1920x1080(interlaced) wth?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by nownot, Apr 25, 2007.

  1. nownot macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Location:
    tx
    #1
    i just got a 37 westinghouse 1080p monitor. but in resolutions settings i can get 1920x1080(interlaced) i cant get progressive des anyone know how to get progressive outta this? thanks.
     
  2. killr_b macrumors 6502a

    killr_b

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Location:
    Suckerfornia
    #2
    Gonna need more info buddy…

    What model is it? Are you actually sending a 1080p signal to it? Over what kind of cable?
     
  3. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #3
    VGA Input Is Progressive

    Use the VGA input and it will be progressive.
     
  4. nownot thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Location:
    tx
    #4
    lvm 37w3, im trying to send 1080p signal but its on 1920x1800(interlaced) tv info shows interlaced as well, and im using dvi.
     
  5. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #5
    VGA & DVI Input Is Progressive Not Interlaced

    Has DVI not HDMI digital? Coming from your Mac is not interlaced. It's definitely Progressive. Only the broadcast signal on the ATSC tuner is interlaced.
     
  6. nownot thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Location:
    tx
    #6
    will pick up connection tomorrow, is this somthin i should even bother with. what will p bring over i in terms of monitor use?
     
  7. Nightkrawler macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #7
    I have a 42' Amoi 1080p connected to my macbook pro 17' over a dvi to hdmi cable. 1080p didnt work at the first time (max 1080i only) so i used the trial of "switchresx" to make a new profile with 1080p. Works great! (even after removing switchresx)
     
  8. ReanimationLP macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #8
    Another great place to ask and get info on these 37" Westys is HardOCP.

    Why? Cause people there are using these not as HDTVs, but as their actual monitors sitting on a desk.
     
  9. nownot thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Location:
    tx
    #9
    downloaded switcherx and the resolution is now 1920x1080p which is what i wanted, thanks or the input. also one more question for the use of the program if i forget to change it back and unhook it will my macbok try to do 1080p its screen or will it auto change back once i unhook the minidvi. i could try this but im afraid to, thanks for the help.
     
  10. Nightkrawler macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #10
    After you saved the profile it should stay in the monitor profile of osx.
    1080p works after unplugging the tv (at least for me, its fully plug and play :D ), it is possible to completley remove switchresx after saving the new 1080p profile too.
    enjoy :)
     
  11. nownot thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Location:
    tx
    #11
    does anyone know how to do this. when i put it in 1080p it works but then i put it in 720p and the 1080p one disappears from the resolution list and 1080i is always there. any help?
     

Share This Page