1password + firefox

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by mrgreeneyes, Jul 24, 2010.

  1. mrgreeneyes macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    Orleans,Canada
    #1
    i am having trouble using 1password and firefox.
    everytime i go to a website that i need to login to, 1password never works.

    but if i go to the same site with safari, im automatically logged in. what gives?
    why does it not work for firefox? i have contacted the 1password support, and they were not helpful at all.

    any idea? tips?

    Thanks
     
  2. redwarrior macrumors 603

    redwarrior

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Location:
    in the Dawg house
    #2
    It always worked flawlessly for me.

    Has it ever worked?
    Have you recently upgraded anything?
    What did tech support say?
     
  3. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #3
    Do you have the latest version
    They just updated recently
     
  4. mrgreeneyes thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    Orleans,Canada
    #4

    yes it worked but randomly, like i would go to these forums, and make sure to check off the keep my logged in. and it would sometimes work

    tech support told me to go into 1password > help > troubleshooting > clear cache. and that everything should be fine after that.


    i always upgrade 1password and firefox
     
  5. mrgreeneyes thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    Orleans,Canada
    #5
    yes i have the latest versions for both
     
  6. Jaxdialation macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #6
    Puzzling. These two apps have always played well together in my experience.

    Perhaps it is the way you have the add-on configured in Firefox?
     
  7. redwarrior macrumors 603

    redwarrior

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Location:
    in the Dawg house
    #7
    If it were me, I would keep the dialogue going with tech support. They are probably just following a script so you need to continue further with the process.

    Good luck and keep us informed.
     
  8. dyn macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Location:
    .nl
    #8
    Could you humour us and tell us the version numbers? What did the guys from 1Password recommend you?

    In 1Password there is an option in the preferences to uninstall and reinstall the browser plugins. You can do this for all browsers or only 1 or 2, etc. Have you tried that? What other things have you tried? What settings are you using for the browser plugins?

    In other words: give some information because the lack of information is not really helping us in helping you. Thanks!

    Btw, check out the faq page (also accessible from the 1Password troubleshooting menu).
     

Share This Page