1password/lastpass pretty much useless on mobile?

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by chad.petree, Jan 22, 2015.

  1. chad.petree, Jan 22, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2015

    chad.petree macrumors 6502

    chad.petree

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Location:
    Deutschland
    #1
    I've grown really fond of lastpass, it's a really useful app on my macbook and of course I wanted to try it on my iphone, but I was disappointed to find out that it pretty much just works on safari, there's not a single app that uses it, instagram, facebook, twitter , loooks like none of them have support for lastpass, what's the point then?

    I downloaded 1password too and it was the same, is there a limitation behind this behaviour? Or we just need to wait for developers to integrate 1pssword/lastpass with their apps? :confused:
     
  2. KUguardgrl13 macrumors 68020

    KUguardgrl13

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Location:
    Kansas, USA
    #2
    I'm not sure, but it could be lack of support from other app developers. Personally the way I use 1password is by going in and doing copy+paste. Usually my apps remember the password.
     
  3. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #3
    I use 1Password the same way. Works fine for me.
     
  4. aphexacid macrumors 6502a

    aphexacid

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #4
    ^ same here. I don't want any other apps accessing my entire database of passwords. No thanks.
     
  5. chad.petree thread starter macrumors 6502

    chad.petree

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Location:
    Deutschland
    #5
    Guess I will have to do the copy and paste method then ;)
     
  6. Primejimbo macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    Around
    #6
    Some apps will work with 1Password and here is a list:
    https://blog.agilebits.com/1password-apps/

    I do the same for mine too, not a big deal at all. Most apps will remember it anyweays and you just need to input the password once
     
  7. takeshi74 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    #7
    The point is always subjective. If the point for you is to only use the app then, yes, it probably is pointless for you. I find plenty of point in using the 1Password browser when an app doesn't support 1Password.
     
  8. Michaelgtrusa macrumors 604

    Michaelgtrusa

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Everywhere And Nowhere
  9. Abazigal macrumors 604

    Abazigal

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Location:
    Singapore
    #9
    I use launch centre pro and a custom script I found on Macstories to retrieve any stored password I want. A little hackish, I know, but still easier than having to manually launch the app. :p
     
  10. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #10

    I used a URL Scheme for awhile with Launcher Pro that would do the same thing.
     
  11. whiteshadoww macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Location:
    Santa Monica, CA
    #11
    For my Chase Bank app, as an example, i just go to ipassword and copy my password and paste.
     
  12. Primejimbo macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    Around
    #12
    Same here, and it's pretty quick now with the Touch ID to open 1Password. On a side note, it would be nice if the Chase app used the Touch ID also to open it.
     
  13. Primejimbo macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    Around
    #14
  14. Stuke00 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Location:
    Collinsville,IL
    #15
    There are definitely apps that use 1password. Acorns was one, my turbotax app used it as well.
     
  15. Xenomorph macrumors 65816

    Xenomorph

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Location:
    St. Louis
    #16
    I use Dropbox + PassDrop all the time on my iPhone.

    It's far from useless. It also cost nowhere near what that 1password garbage costs.
     
  16. gordon1234 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #17
    They don't. The only thing the Safari process sees is the password you choose to autofill. The plugin system is very secure.
     
  17. ilkevinli macrumors 6502

    ilkevinli

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Location:
    NYC
    #18
    Do you happen to have a link to that article ? I would like to try this myself. Thanks.


     
  18. Abazigal macrumors 604

    Abazigal

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Location:
    Singapore
    #19
  19. ilkevinli macrumors 6502

    ilkevinli

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Location:
    NYC
    #20
  20. eclipse01 macrumors 68020

    eclipse01

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI

Share This Page