1st Mac 1GB vs 2 GB Video Ram

Discussion in 'iMac' started by mustangtexas, Jul 25, 2011.

1. mustangtexas macrumors newbie

Hello all. I am buying my first Mac and I need help with a decision. I'm likely buying a 27" iMac with the Core i7 3.4 processor. Will I notice an appreciable difference between the 1GB video card and the 2 GB video card? I have an opportunity to get a 1GB-equipped unit for a nice discount. If I want one with 2GB, I have to do BTO at full price. I don't mind paying full price, but I am curious about the real-world benefits of more video RAM.

I am not a gamer. I am an amateur photographer so I do work with Photoshop quite a bit. Not sure if more VRAM helps with photo editing.

Either way, I am looking forward to using a Mac.

2. jaikob macrumors 6502

jaikob

There is no current benefit of the 2GB card. Plain and simple. I bought the 2GB because I was already spending 2500+ and $90 at that point didn't concern me. You will probably never notice the different between the two cards, and most games will never cap 1GB of graphics memory to begin with. Use your discount on the 1GB card.

3. davidhaynes macrumors newbie

Vram

If you are using VM (Parallels or Fusion) the ability to segregate some of the VRAM to OSX and some to Win7 is and advantage on programs that use alot of VRAM (some video/photo editing and some CAD programs).

Hope this helps.

David

4. coolspot18 macrumors 65816

None at all.

Seriously, how many VMs are you going to run concurrently? Max VRAM you can specify is 256MB in Parallels anyways, so with 1GB, you can still run 2 - 3 concurrent VMs with max memory!

5. mustangtexas thread starter macrumors newbie

So it seems as though there is little use for 2GB of VRAM. This leads me to ask: Why do they offer it? :confused:

6. dcrichmond macrumors newbie

I upgraded to the 2GB card. Thought it might help since I will be using 2-3 extra monitors.

7. marsmissions macrumors 6502

marsmissions