1st post - buying my Macbook White this weekend

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by 615bride, Apr 17, 2009.

1. 615bride macrumors newbie

I'm sure I'll be around here a lot with questions. I'm about to switch over to a Macbook White from a 6.5 year old Dell laptop. I'm a teacher and my school used macs for many years several years ago but I've been on a PC ever since.

I don't have an apple store in my city but our Best Buy has the mac setup and I was planning to buy there.

I'm on the computer a lot but do no gaming or video watching. It's all internet, blogging and a good amount of photo editing.

Do I sound like I'm on the right track with a macbook white? My husband is working on his dissertation and has a great Dell laptop with lots of bells and whistles which is great for watching Netflix and other things. The Macbook will be all for me!

I'm a little bit weirded out by Best Buy only because the people there often seem to not know much about what they're selling. The "mac guy" was very helpful though and talked with me for a long time about options, features, my teacher price, etc.

Am I on the right track with this decision?

Thanks!

2. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

SnowLeopard2008

The MacBook is always a great all-around computer. Many switchers from PCs choose either that or the Mac Mini for their first Mac. For your uses, it should serve you well. Although if you can, the aluminum version will last longer and is more sturdy. I have a white MacBook and I think it's a great computer. Just don't expect any mid-level to high-end gaming. For photo editing, PhotoShop will run fine and iPhoto (which is included) will be great for organizing family photos and etc. Every Mac comes with iLife (iPhoto, iMovie, Garageband, iDVD, and iWeb) which is useful for people that don't use Pro apps like CS4.

3. ditzy macrumors 68000

ditzy

To me it sounds like you are on the right track.

4. 615bride thread starter macrumors newbie

Thank you!