1st post! Can my iMac "hit the road"?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by pebblepoint, May 14, 2009.

  1. pebblepoint macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    #1
    My dial up downloads at 26,000kbs.
    Too slow to do updates, or to update my GPS.
    Can't afford a laptop.
    I have a truck camper with a table.
    Idea- Take my iMac 17 to a local McDonald's or Paneras parking lot and do the above chores using their WiFi.
    What do I need to buy in order to do this?
    My OS is 10.4.8, Airport, Bluetooth.
    As you can tell, I'm new at his so be kind.
    thanks.
    don
     
  2. zap2 macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #2
    Assume McDonald's Wi-Fi is open, just run in, plug you're iMac in, start it up, do the updates, shut down(well make sure everything is running from the updates first), then leave.


    You might get a few weird looks, but who really cares?


    Oh wait, you're camper has power outlets in it? If so, seems pretty easy. Just park, start up the Mac, look for the Wi-Fi network. Assume you find it and its unlocked, you'll be good to go!
     
  3. Rhalliwell1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    #3
    If you do this, film it or take some pics. It will be hilarious! :D
     
  4. Willis macrumors 68020

    Willis

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    What feels like the middle of nowhere
    #4
    All Mcdonalds here in the UK have free Wifi... when my internet was down, I spent 2 evenings in there haha. Although, at the time, I did work there but, I go in there all the time with my Macbook if some of my friends are working. (Pub across the road too, so, pop there after for a few drinks)

    good times
     
  5. jmpage2 macrumors 68030

    jmpage2

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #5
    You can buy a DC to AC power inverter for your truck. Plug it in to the 12V outlet in your truck and drive to some place with free wi-fi. Generally wi-fi is good to around 30-70 meters so as long as you park very close you should have no problem picking up the signal.

    Plug the Mac into the power inverter and you're off to the races.

    It's worth noting that in the States there are a few cases of people being arrested for using "free" wi-fi in this fashion as it has been argued that if you're not in the business buying stuff it is trespassing.
     
  6. adrianblaine macrumors 65816

    adrianblaine

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    #6
    I would warn about this too. I would pull up to either place and start your downloads, then go in and get some food and either eat it in there or in your truck while it finishes. That would basically be the same as taking a laptop inside. It's the least you could do.
     
  7. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    How fast does dial up download? 26 kb/s? Some people over here have broadband that fast, we used to and it was fast enough to leave it over night to download stuff. But dial up that fast? That's crazy.
     
  8. dmmcintyre3 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #8
    For it to be considered broadband it has to be 768KB/s you are probably confusing KB with MB
     
  9. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
  10. lordsion macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #10
    Mcdonalds in Australia where i am only gives you like a 1GB or 2 Gb limit!
     
  11. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #11
    I know that places like Starbucks offers free access to Apple.com.... I don't know why that is as I can surf the Apple Store or their site but everything else is blocked if you don't purchase their WiFi.

    Now I don't know if that's true about downloading updates? I've never tried that:eek:
     
  12. trose macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    #12
    His dialup is 26,000 kilobits. That means it downloads at 2.6/kilobytes. A substantial difference.

    The broadband you are referring to, that downloads around 26kB/s, is most likely 256,000kilobits.

    It's rather confusing, because companies & people always refer to their connection speed in kilobits/sec, but refer to their download speed in kilobytes/sec.

    And actually, dmmcintyre3, you are incorrect- "Broadband" does not have an official definition. In some areas, it's marketed as 128kb+/sec, in some it's 256... I've even seen 64kb/sec ISDN rated as broadband.
     
  13. fohawk17 macrumors regular

    fohawk17

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #13
    ou should be fine.... just make sure to enjoy a big mac while it is updating..... :)
     

Share This Page