1st time Mac interest..

Discussion in 'iMac' started by UKDad, Jun 25, 2014.

1. UKDad macrumors newbie

Hey all, I'm new to this forum and have read quite a bit. Some I understand a little and some not as much. Love the forum!!
    I'm going to buy 1st iMac and I am not much of a gammer and it will mostly be used for basic surfing and such. However my daughter will be using it some for photo and limited amounts of video editing. Would the i5 with the 256ssd and 8gb memory be satisfactory? I've read that the memory cannot be upgraded in the 21.5 iMac. Should I then get the 16gb? You can laugh, lol, but I'm leaving behind the old dell inspiron 8600. Its been kicking for 10 yrs. I will trust you guys on this. I'm not a techie at all. But I will be back with lots of questions. Thanks all. Have a great evening!!

2. Weaselboy Moderator

Weaselboy

Staff Member

That will be fine and there is no need to spend extra money on the 16GB.

You can see from this test that 16GB does very little for you unless you are doing some very heavy lifting with Photoshop or the like.

3. UKDad, Jun 25, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2014

UKDad thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for the link. I wouldn't have thought the comparisons to be that small. Good info. How about the difference in the 1TB HDD over the 256 ssd? I just happen to run across one on a site that is brand new that has some desired software already on it.It has the 2.9 i5, 1TB, and 8Gb ram. It would save me over 300$ in cost and tax not to mention the cost of the software. NM, the pc is not new which means the software is prolly not legal for me to have..

4. Weaselboy Moderator

Weaselboy

Staff Member

Ehhh... if you can swing the money a Mac with an SSD is really a much better overall experience. All the apps launch faster and everything just seems so much smoother. If it was men I would get the SSD version then you can add an inexpensive external USB3 hard drive for more storage later if you need it.