1TB & 8GB Ram 13" Macbook Pro Upgrade

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by CC424, Dec 1, 2010.

  1. CC424 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    #1
    Well I decided to take the plunge and upgrade my current stock MBP.

    I replaced the 4gb Ram with 8gb Ram of Kingston Memory. I haven't had any issues with the ram. Although, I still get the rainbow from time to time.

    I went with the Samsung 1TB drive from Newegg. I didn't have any install problems. The drive is 12mm but fits perfectly. There were many reviews of noise which I have not had. I am noticing slight vibrations when I place the Macbook on a table but however when it is in my lap there is no problem.

    The MBP does seem a tad faster after the upgrades.

    I'm really debating on keeping the drive in the MBP or just putting it in my PS3. I would love to JB my PS3 and store all my games on the hard drive.

    But overall the memory and drive are good!
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    I think PS3's HD bay is 9.5mm, thus the 1TB may not fit
     
  3. Aaron from KY macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Location:
    Northern Kentucky
    #3
    Seagate's 750GB 7200RPM drive is pretty tempting. It's 9.5mm too
     
  4. CC424 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    #4
    I think I read someone doing it but just not putting it back in the original HD tray.
     
  5. CC424 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    #5
    Go for it...I caught my drive for 79.99 and could not pass on it! I figure that I could put all my media in one spot!

    It's the Mega Mac Pro!
     
  6. Fuzzy.Dunlop macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Location:
    London
    #6
    I'm just about to do this, have ordered the 8gb memory from Crucial (£78 shipped)

    But am stuck on which 1tb hard drive to order the three I can find are

    Samsung 1TB Spinpoint MT2 SATA-300 5400RPM 8MB - £69.99

    Toshiba 1TB 2.5" 5400 8MB - £75

    Western Digital 1TB Scorpio Blue 2.5 - £90

    I'm guessing I should just play safe and get the WD?
     
  7. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    Assuming they have the same warranties, just go with Samsung. No need to pay 20£ extra for nothing
     
  8. Fuzzy.Dunlop macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Location:
    London
    #8
    Cheers, have ordered the Samsung. Maybe a stupid question but from the guides I've read I also ordered an enclosure for the old/new hard drive so I presume I can just make a carbon copy clone to the new hard drive then swap it out to work immediately/normally?
     
  9. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #9
    Yup, cloning should do the trick.
     
  10. Fuzzy.Dunlop macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Location:
    London
    #10
    We'll it's done and so far so good, was surprised how simple a job it was to do.

    One thing I did notice is under the (heat, i presume?) cover of the super drive (optiarc) was lumpy? Like big grains of hard dirt underneath :confused:
     

Share This Page