1TB Fusion Disk speed test results

Discussion in 'iMac' started by myname70, Jul 4, 2014.

  1. myname70 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #1
    My iMac is late 2013 model, 21.5", 16GB RAM, 3.1GHz i7, Fusion Drive 1TB. The DiskSpeedTest (Blackmagic) - shows me 436 MB/sec read and 250 MB/sec write. Is it OK? It looks me too slow.. What are your speed results ?
     
  2. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #2
    The Black Magic Disk Speed Test isn't the best tool for testing Fusion drives due to the test-file size which is larger than the SSD assigned write buffer size. Thus you are actually seeing more of the hard disk speed than the SSD speed itself. The read speed may also be affected by this.
     
  3. myname70 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #3
    Thanks. What app can I use for the fusion disks speed test ?
     
  4. marzer macrumors 65816

    marzer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #4
    Go into the Blackmagic test setting and select a smaller test file size.
     
  5. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #5
    You might try the AJA System Test as it gives somewhat more test flexibility.

    https://www.aja.com/en/products/aja-system-test

    Also, as mentioned above, selecting a smaller test file size rather than the default may show more accurate results.

    However, due to the way the Fusion drive operates, it is difficult to determine exactly what the transfer speed is since the results will be highly dependent on how much data is actually in place on the Fusion drive (i.e. is the drive almost empty so that all your files including the test file are on the SSD, or is the Fusion algorithm moving things around on the hard disk because you have exceeded the capacity of the raw SSD part of the joined drives).
     
  6. yjchua95, Jul 4, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2014

    yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #6
    Allow me to show off my significantly smaller, but significantly faster 256GB SSD in my 21.5" iMac (3.1 i7/16/SM0256F/750M)

    *troll face*

    I had the option of choosing between the Fusion drive and the 256GB SSD, and since I needed pure performance (I keep all my media offshore), I went for an SSD instead.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
    Just for fun! My extremely small but extremely fast 10G RAM driver :D

    DiskSpeedTest RAM driver.png
     
  8. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #8
    RAM disk eh?

    Let me outspeed you :)

    I frequently use RAM disks myself to reduce writes to the SSD when working on projects, so I normally create RAM disks about 24-32GB in size (out of a total of 64GB in my cylindrical Mac Pro baby).
     

    Attached Files:

  9. phrehdd macrumors 68040

    phrehdd

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #9
    Very cool to see some old school tricks being used with a new device. Kudos.
     
  10. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #10
    The old days when 64K of RAM was already the flower of technology :)
     
  11. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #11
    You beat me:mad:, haha~

    I usually use 10G of RAM for caching or other use (out of my 32G RAM). Anyway, it's good to see that the nMP RAM write 18% faster than the oMP.
     
  12. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #12
    The screenshot was actually on my rMBP :p

    Anyway, yeah, the RAM operates faster because 1600 MHz is a step up from 1333 MHz.
     
  13. myname70 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #13
    Guys, sorry for the silly question -but how can I set a RAM drive? :)
     
  14. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #14
    You can download some free apps from AppStore for this purpose.
     
  15. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #15
    I use TmpDisk for creating RAM disks.
     
  16. myname70 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #16
    Thanks. So, RAM disk uses somehow the available RAM? Is slow down the overall performance of the iMac? I have 16GB RAM
     
  17. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #17
    It won't slow down as long as you don't fully utilize RAM.


    For instance, I know that my Photoshop work uses around 5-6GB of RAM. The file itself is 1GB. So I create a 1.5GB RAM disk (out of a total of 16GB). This means I still have 14.5GB of RAM for everything else. So it'll be enough for whatever I'm doing at that moment.
     
  18. phrehdd macrumors 68040

    phrehdd

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #18
    At times I miss those days of early DOS and later, OS/2. I also remember showing a programmer (of all people sigh) how to create a RAM drive and do his compiling within. The difference was incredible. Then again, I remember J-RAM and PCs when a "co-processor" was an add on. At that time I used CAD programs to do basic layouts for graphic paste up. The print out would take several hours with a dot matrix printer (without the co-processor).
     

Share This Page