1TB Hard Drives

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by PodPacker, Jan 29, 2008.

  1. PodPacker macrumors regular

    PodPacker

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #1
    Does anyone have a mac pro with the 1TB drive? I have been looking for these elusive 32MB Cache 1TB drives, but I keep coming across conflicting information. A brand and model number for the drive would be great. I'm running out of space fast. :eek:
     
  2. kittiyut macrumors regular

    kittiyut

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #2
    Just got 5 Seagate ES.2 1TB delivered today. Still waiting for MP to be shipped though :(
     
  3. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    Why five? One'll just sit there. Unless you're a swapper! :p
     
  4. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #4
    You can put the fifth one where the second optical drive goes.
     
  5. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    Truth. Not many know this, though, and I assumed he didn't. I suppose Nute Gunray said it best, "Youuuu assuuuuuume tooo muuuuuch..."
     
  6. kittiyut macrumors regular

    kittiyut

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #6
  7. PodPacker thread starter macrumors regular

    PodPacker

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #7
    Seagate? Really?

    What about all those reports about bad Seagate drives? I'm a little weary about buying drives from them. Are those the standard issue Mac Pro drives? I found some 32MB cache drive at MCE, but they are $440.00 each. Seems pricey. Any other advice would be appreciated. Thanks guys for this info, especially for that tid-bit about the 5th space. Though I planned on using that as second optical to rip 2 at a time.
     
  8. kdb31 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #8
  9. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #9
    I've just got one and it is an extremely fast and quiet drive for the price. No complaints with the Samsungs.
     
  10. bilbo--baggins macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    I've got a couple of Hitachi 7K1000 1TB SATA drives in my G5. Has anyone used these in the Mac Pro. Presumably shouldn't be any problems?
     
  11. rds macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    #11
    I have a couple of Samsung F1s waiting in the wings.
     
  12. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #12
    Nope, shouldn't be a problem at all.
     
  13. kittiyut macrumors regular

    kittiyut

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #13
    $440 each??!!! I paid 310 for the 1TB ES.2 (7,200 rpm 32MB cache, enterprise class) You can get the 7,200.11 baracuda for only $275. OEM drives of course, but why pay retail for the box and cables that you don't need?
     
  14. PodPacker thread starter macrumors regular

    PodPacker

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #14
    Thanks guys

    So, after you guys pointed me in the right direction, I've finally settled it to 3 models to choose from.

    Seagate: ST31000340AS

    Hitachi: HUA721010KLA330 and HDS721010KLA330

    I am a Western Digital fanboy, but there is no 32MB cache drive from WD.

    The specs on Samsung drive (ready time and read/write) seem awful compared to these drives. If they are a great deal cheaper I may opt for it. I hope that this thread helps others.

    Thanks again. :)
     
  15. rds macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    #15
    The access times are not that great but for read/write throughput performance, they beat them all. (Read some reviews, not the technical spec sheets. ;))
     
  16. BajaBurrito macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    #16
    I ordered the 1 TB drive upgrade with my new Mac Pro and it shipped with a Hitachi 7K1000 (HDS721010KLA330). Not sure if that should influence anyone's decision, but thought I'd throw it out there.
     
  17. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #17
    When given the chance, I always buy Samsung products, they simply can't be beat. The one Samsung hard drive I bought was the quietest desktop drive I've ever owned, and (when not reading or writing) quite possibly quieter then a laptop drive.
     
  18. NATO macrumors 68000

    NATO

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #18
    I'm using 2 Western Digital 'Green Power' 1TB Drives for general media storage, so far they're working great. I'm not sure what the performance is like for use as a primary boot volume, but for media storage they're fantastic - exceptionally quiet with lower power consumption (on paper anyway, I haven't actually measured power consumption myself)
     
  19. kdb31 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #19
    Heres an article discussing the WD Green drives and Seagate :)
    http://www.anandtech.com/storage/showdoc.aspx?i=3161
     
  20. faumble macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #20
    Whats the difference btw this ES.2 and the 7200.11??
    Thanks!:D
     
  21. kittiyut macrumors regular

    kittiyut

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #21
    ES.2 is enterprise class, has higher MTBF, better power management, better error control, more reliable for 24/7 use. Unfortunately, I think it does not have NCQ !!??
     
  22. DH Miller macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #22
    1 TB Hard drives

    Did you consider the WD Enterprise 750 SATAs? I was planning to go with two of those, giving up the extra space. Speed and acoustic noise are the top priorities (video editing/animation). Any comparisons you know of?
    best.
    d

     
  23. kittiyut macrumors regular

    kittiyut

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #23
    No, I didn't consider it (both the RE2 and RE2-GP), reason?
    - smaller capacity, I wanted 1 TB
    - 16 MB cache vs 32 MB
    - Maximum PC did a comparison amongst Hitachi, WD and Seagate (7200.11 not the enterprise version) 1 TB drives and gave the nod to Seagate as the fastest. Hitachi was the slowest due to smallest areal density (it uses 4 platters instead of 3)
     
  24. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
    #24
    You may want to check your numbers. The Hitachi uses 5 platters and the Seagate and WD's use 4. The Samsungs use 3... and they are the fastest.
     
  25. faumble macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #25
    thanks! what is MTBF ad NCQ? could you pls tell me the differences btw these hds? thx in advance
     

Share This Page