1TB HDD in any 2010 MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by skate71290, Oct 4, 2010.

  1. skate71290 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    hey again, sorry for the double thread, but i was just wanting to know, is there any possibility of placing a 1TB HDD in any of the 2010 MBPs (any size, specify which can and which cannot)! regards, skate71290
     
  2. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #2
    yes, 12.5MM (1TB) drives will fit in the original drive bay, but not as an optibay.
     
  3. skate71290 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    So if i went to buy a 13" MBP i can take the stock HDD out and put the 1TB in? what is an optibay?
     
  4. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #4
    yes you can.
    an optibay is a device that will allow you to fit a hard drive where the superdrive usually is (voids warranty)
     
  5. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    Optibay is a device that replaces the optical drive with a hard drive.
     
  6. skate71290 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    That sounds kind of cool, shame an external Superdrive couldn't be used and that it voids warranty :( :p
     
  7. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #7
    you can use an external superdrive alright. I just wouldn't void my warranty for an optibay. (by law we get two years warranty in my country! :D)
     

Share This Page