1TB or 640GB as boot drive for new Nehalem Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by amoergosum, Mar 19, 2009.

  1. amoergosum macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #1
    Hello,
    I'm about to order a 2x2.26Ghz 8-core Mac Pro.
    I still have to decide whether to order it with the base hard drive (640GB)
    or the 1TB hard drive (as the boot drive).
    What would you recommend? Is the 640GB hard drive faster than the 1TB ?
    best,
    Ben
     
  2. MistaBungle macrumors 6502a

    MistaBungle

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    #2
    It depends on the actual specs of both drives. What is the RPM, cache, etc..?
     
  3. amoergosum thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #3
    Here are the specs from the Apple online store >>>
    640GB 7200-rpm Serial ATA 3Gb/s
    1TB 7200-rpm Serial ATA 3Gb/s
     
  4. Cliff3 macrumors 65816

    Cliff3

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #4
    The 640GB model comes with a Western Digital WD6400AAKS while my understanding is that the 1TB version is equipped with the WD1001FALS.

    I did not want to order directly from Apple, and BTO machines are/were not yet available from resellers. I wanted a server grade drive in my machine (to which I'll add more as time and budget permits), and I can always put a decent spare drive to good use, so I ordered the base machine and separately ordered a 1TB WD1002FBYS RE3 drive (Newegg - $160).
     
  5. RemarkabLee macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #5
    If the above model numbers are correct, the 640 has 16Mb cache and the 1Tb has 32Mb cache.

    Personally, I'd take the 640 as the money you'd save for an Apple upgrade you could buy yourself a 1Tb if you shop around AND get to keep the 640 drive for Time Machine!
     
  6. Cliff3 macrumors 65816

    Cliff3

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #6
    I can vouch for the 640 model number - I eyeballed the one in my machine which arrived late yesterday. Both model numbers were posted in a prior thread, but I'm too lazy to search for it.
     

Share This Page