1TB SSD vs 240GB SSD (OS)+1TB SDD (Media) Combo (general question)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by sunnyj, Dec 6, 2013.

  1. sunnyj macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Location:
    Vancouver, British Columbia
    #1
    this is a question regarding my MBP and i know this is a MP section, but no one could answer it on the MBP section. i am hoping someone here can help me out.

    i recently purchased a samsung evo 1tb ssd and i was wondering if i would have any performance loss if i put the OS and all my media on the 1tb ssd. primary use will be editing raw dslr files and video editing in premiere pro cs6. i know installing the OS and keeping media files on one hd is a bad idea because it bogs everything down. does the same logic apply to ssd's?

    i currently have an owc ssd and owc does not recommend to enable trim, but the samsung evo ssd does. i don't want to buy another 240gb samsung evo to replace the owc ssd which is working flawlessly.

    thanks in advance.
     
  2. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #2
    There will be no performance loss moving everything to the 1TB. SSDs can handle much higher IOPs than HDs so you can't really bog them down except in the most extreme I/O situations (e.g. heavily loaded server). Go ahead.
     
  3. costabunny macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    Weymouth, UK
    #3
    If it were me, I would make a 750gb partition on the EVO and put the os and apps on there. Then id make a 240 gb partition on the remaining evo and set it up as a raid0 with the ocz - making a 480gb super fast partition for the video editing work.

    Just my suggestion is all.
     
  4. sunnyj thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Location:
    Vancouver, British Columbia
    #4
    thanks VirtualRain, i will give it a shot.

    the problem with that is: the main bay is sata3 and the optical bay is sata2. the second issue is, owc ssd's have trim built into the ssd controller and the evo ssd's need trim enabled in the OS. thanks for the suggestion though :)
     
  5. MattDSLR macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    good question
    let us know how it works out for you
     
  6. sunnyj, Dec 7, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2013

    sunnyj thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Location:
    Vancouver, British Columbia
    #6
    update: after further research, i have learned that if i install a sata3 SSD in the optibay i will get random freezes and beachballs. it does not make a difference if the MBP has sata2 or sata3 connections, only sata 2 SSD/HDD will successfully work without issues in the optibay... i have no choice but to install the sata3 1TB SSD in the main HD port and use it for the OS and media. now i have to figure out if i want to leave the optibay empty or reinstall the superdrive which i never use.
     

Share This Page