2.0.3.1 Pwnage bug

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by bbplayer5, Aug 26, 2008.

  1. bbplayer5 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    #1
    Wifi shuts off by itself for no apparently reason. When you go back into the options it kicks back on. Kind of annoying!
     
  2. JamboUK macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    #2
    Anyone else?
     
  3. Rotara macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    London UK
    #3
    I think that is to do with the energy efficiency built into the new firmware. If there's no data traffic detected it powers down to conserve battery life. When it detects you need connectivity it powers up again. There's an unfortunate latency in this process which is probably compensated for in new handsets with always on higher speed data link over 3G, but not in 2G ones unfortunately.

    edit:: I would not go as far to say that this is a bug in the Pwnage Tool.
     
  4. Speedracer04 macrumors 6502a

    Speedracer04

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    #4
    has anyone been able to confirm/disprove this? I would like to know before I go ahead and use pwnage.
     
  5. roryK macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #5
    Anyone can prove this. I only noticed afted QuickPWNing.

    Get the ip address of your phone, go to a pc on the same network then do a

    ping 192.168.103.x -t (ip of the phone)


    Watch until the phone goes dark and about 10 seconds after darking out the WIFI will drop and it will use 3g.


    This **** needs fixed ASAP.
     
  6. roryK macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #6
    Does anyone know of an IRC channel or Forum where the developers hang out so that i can report this bug and talk it over?
     
  7. dsegel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #7
    Install Insomnia if you want it to stay up. How do you know this is a pwnage bug and not standard 2.0.1 or 2.0.2 behaviour?
     
  8. roryK macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #8
    I am going to verify that as soon as my co-worker arrives, as he has an untouched 2.0.2 firmware.
     
  9. Ninja Dom macrumors 6502

    Ninja Dom

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    #9
    This isn't a bug.

    My iPhone has done this since last year when I was on 1.0.2.

    Wifi stops working when the phone goes to sleep. It kicks back in when the phone is woken up or it needs to auto-check emails.
     
  10. Diversion macrumors 6502a

    Diversion

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #10
    I second the fact that the iPhone has always shut down the WiFi connection after you put the phone asleep.. It's done this since I bought the original 2g iPhone last year on LAUNCH day!

    Jay
     
  11. bbplayer5 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    #11
    Guys, this wasnt when my phone was sleeping, it was while I was using it. The wifi just stops getting signal, and I have to go into settings. I dont actually touch anything in settings, just going in kicks it back in. Im going to try a restore of the network settings again, and a full restore if need be.
     
  12. roryK macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #12
    My fault then, i am new to the iphone and didnt notice it before. It is annoying as all hell though.
     
  13. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #13
    Why is it so annoying? It automatically reconnects. Instead of unlocking and being on a heart attack course to use wifi, give it 2 or 3 seconds tops and it will connect automatically. In fact, opening Safari might actually make it connect faster.
     
  14. funeral macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    RI
    #14
    No I think there is a bug

    I have the 1st gen phone and all was fine until I tried to use 2.0.3.
    I was at 2.0.1 then did the upgrade via itunes to 2.0.2. I lost cydia but nothing was wrong. Then I jailbroke my phone with 2.0.3 and lost wifi. updated to 2.0.3.1 and tried to restore and still nothing. It does not even see the networks. I did a restore to the regular 2.0.2 that locked it again and ran quickpwn. still no wifi. I guess I have to wait for 2.0.4. unless anyone knows how to fix it again.
     

Share This Page