2.0 Apps Obsolete

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Ambush083, Jul 30, 2008.

  1. Ambush083 macrumors regular

    Ambush083

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    Hawaii
    #1
    Well, I got to thinking...I know thats dangerous, but I was curious about the 2.1 firmware update. Does that mean all 2.0 apps on appstore won't work until the developer ports it to 2.1? Or will Apple fix it. Or will they just do a regular update like you can currently get if a program has a newer version out.

    Thanks in Advance. :confused:
     
  2. mr.stinki macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #2
    Apple would probably give all the developers a notice saying:

    Hey, if you use this, this, and this API, they have change to this and that. If your app relies on these API's, you have about a week to make the change before we release the new software.

    Some people will update quickly, but some won't. Some apps might be obsolete for a day or so, but the developer should get into updating the app soon.
     
  3. Ambush083 thread starter macrumors regular

    Ambush083

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    Hawaii
    #3
    You think Apple would have a Automatic system to port to 2.0, then send a notice to devs to test it out to make sure its in proper order, i don't know, im not that educated in this area.
     
  4. iVoid macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    #4
    Well, if Apple did the SDK and APIs correctly, then the existing apps should work as is. With any software update there's always a chance that an app my have problems, but there'sno way all apps will have to be re-made for a firmware update.

    Just like most Tiger apps still worked in leopard, the same will be true of iPhone apps. And the iPhone app environment is much more restricted than Mac OS X apps, so there should be less that can go wrong.


    Of course, to take advantage of new features, apps will have to be updated.
     
  5. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #5
    I'm going to guess this works like most 10.5.x releases, and doesn't require any changes on the part of developers.
     

Share This Page