2.0 Firmware has bricked my iPhone

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Devil's Refugee, Jul 11, 2008.

  1. Devil's Refugee macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    #1
    So, finally I update the firmware to the official 2.0 available via iTunes and now it's destroyed the phone (1st gen)
    All I have is the SOS screen for emergency use only, iTunes doesn't even recognise the phone (gets stuck in an 'Accessing iTunes Store' loop) so I can't even do a Restore again.


    HELP !!!!

    Now getting a "We could not complete your iTunes Store reques: unknown error occurred (-9838)
     
  2. TC2COOL macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #2
    Me Too... I don't know... I guess it's just the millions of people trying to access iTunes at the same time... UGH!
     
  3. Auzburner macrumors 65816

    Auzburner

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY - USA
    #3
    OMG, am I happy I upgraded with the leak version more and more!
     
  4. TC2COOL macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #4
    I've checked around at other sites, it looks like a lot of people are having this issue.

    It's gotta be traffic on the iTunes servers... I guess...
     
  5. Devil's Refugee thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    #5
    Yeah, so did I yesterday but decided to go with the official firmware.....stupid stupid move !!! :mad:
     
  6. BOSS10L macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #6
    Same here, bricked.

    I don't understand why Apple couldn't have released this via iTunes for us 1st gen owners to get and avoid the hassles. I just wonder how long we're going to be without our phones for. :mad:
     
  7. TC2COOL macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #7
    This is about as cool as a campfire.

    I kinda need my phone to work... ya know?
     
  8. brentg33 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    #8
    i keep getting "unknown error (-9838)....is that what everyone else is getting?
     

    Attached Files:

  9. lssmit02 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    #9
    just happened to me

    Phone works, but can't get it to do anything in iTunes
     
  10. TC2COOL macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #10
    That's the one. It is the most evil message I've ever seen. I want to play with my new toys. (And get some work done.)
     
  11. Devil's Refugee thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    #11
    Yeah, same error.

    Between O2 having **** all 3G phones, and now I can't even use my old iPhone because of Apple's lack of technical preparation for a 'world' launch it amounts to a really massive c0ck-up.

    Some very angry people out there imho

    And I need mine for business use.....are you listening Apple !?!
     
  12. Auzburner macrumors 65816

    Auzburner

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY - USA
    #12
    Man, I think I will wait until the dust settles to get the Official update... How did you go about getting the Official version? (to the OP)
     
  13. BOSS10L macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #13
    Same error. I'm sure it is just because the servers are overloaded right now. It just is really bad because my phone is completely useless right now. I can't even make the "emergency call" my swipe screen keeps telling me I can.

    Way to go Apple. Why oh why couldn't you have given it to us earlier?
     
  14. yorkslad macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    #14
    What a f**king shambles from start to finish, first O2 now iTunes update.
    This is why I moved away from Windows, have I missed something has Microsoft aquired apple???:mad:
     
  15. musicdude98 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
  16. brentg33 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    #16
    well this stinks....its my only phone....i hope this gets resolved asap
     
  17. TC2COOL macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #17
    Patience people. Patience. This will fix itself... Yes, this blows a donkey right now. But don't go crying the "This is why I left Microsoft" blues...

    This just means that Apple is so cool, that everyone and their mother's brother's uncle's cousin is using iTunes.

    (I think)
     
  18. diamond.g macrumors 603

    diamond.g

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #18
    Just do a restore. It should dl the official version and install it over top the leaked one.
     
  19. anim8or macrumors 65816

    anim8or

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    #19
    Did you 'update' or did you 'opt+restore'?????
     
  20. TC2COOL macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #20
    Just the official update. The official "Brick" update.
     
  21. Auzburner macrumors 65816

    Auzburner

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY - USA
    #21
    Alright, I will give it a try. *When the dust settles though.
     
  22. eyecool macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #22
    It took a while for the 2.0 update to show up on my iTunes. Downloading all 200+mb of it and installing as we speak. So far, so good.
     
  23. TC2COOL macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #23
    Ok, I give up.

    I have to get some work done, I'm gonna check back in an hour or so and I hope to see someone post, "It works again, I got it to work again!"

    Please.
     
  24. HDJulie macrumors demi-goddess

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    #24
    I waited & a few minutes ago was able to connect to the iTunes store. The phone works now & I have the new App Store icon!
     
  25. Minimoose 360 macrumors 65816

    Minimoose 360

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    NY
    #25
    Everything on mine went as planned, until it it started to access the store.

    My iPhone shows up in the "Devices" menu, but it isn't responding.

    Now unless otherwise, I'm having a different story with mine. It no longer has the progress bar and "Accessing iTunes"...mine flat out tells me that "iTunes cannot make a secure connection.." blah blah BLAH.

    :mad:
     

Share This Page