2.0 ghz vs 2.2 ghz 15" MBP for Graphic Design

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by burms888, Aug 16, 2011.

1. burms888 macrumors member

Sorry to everyone who has seen these threads in the past, but I have not seen this question answered for my purposes. I'm a graphic designer and use Adobe CS5 on a daily basis. Is there any reason for me to get the 2.2 ghz over the 2.0 ghz 15" MBP? I'm not a gamer at all and will only be using my laptop for design purposes and maybe to watch the occasional movie (I would most likely plug it into my HDTV for that) so I don't know if the 1GB vcard is necessary. I'm really just wondering more about the processor and whether or not I will see much difference in performance.

I know the whole "get what you can afford thing". I can afford both, I just don't want to put an extra $400 into something if there will be no real benefit to me. I'm also planning on getting the anti-glare screen and also upgrading to 8GB RAM through third party retailer. I may also eventually spring for the SSD and do the optibay for the preinstalled HDD, but that won't probably happen right away.

Thanks in advance.

2. snaky69 macrumors 603

Splurging on RAM and possibly an SSD would probably benefit you more. The 2.2ghz will outperform the 2.0 during rendering, but in day to day tasks, you'd be hard pressed to see a difference.

3. talmy macrumors 601

talmy

The answer is pretty much the same for everyone. a 10% improvement in processor speed (2.2 versus 2.0) will give you at most a 10% performance improvement. If you make money off of your computer and are time constrained, it would most certainly be worth the cost as you will eventually recover the expense. Otherwise, you won't really feel the difference.

4. fingerman macrumors member

Go for what you can afford so get the 2.2 :D

My 2GHz i7 8MB MPB performs great but I do push it when I've got a few VMs open and I like to play a few old 3D Windows Driving Games.