2.0 GHz vs 2.2 GHz 2011 15" MBP .

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by tchaikovsky, Apr 4, 2011.

1. tchaikovsky macrumors newbie

Currently, I’m trying to decide on weather to get the higher or lower end 2011 15” MPB. I can’t decided weather the boost in GPU and .2GHz is really worth the extra - I think 300$. Or I should just get the basic model and just invest the money in something else like upping the ram to 8gb and maybe a vertex 3 - I‘m just checking into those now. I know the geek bench tests are almost 2k apart, but I think 8-9k is still fairly respectable (?), certainly faster than what I’m on now that’s 2k. - though i think if i get the 2.2 i'll still upgrade the hard drive to an SSD, but a bit later like around Christmas or something.

For use - it’s really basic. I’m a college student. My major is engineering, computer to be specific. I play around with java and run visual basic at least three times a week. I do plan on running photoshop, CS5 if it matters, almost everyday. But it’s not really anything heavy duty for the most part, just tumblr graphics/gifs/occasionally some painting etc etc. and I don’t game - other than like the occasional yahoo game here and there.

I plan on keeping it for around 3-5 years.

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

Go with the low-end then. That money is better spent on RAM and SSD

3. alphaod macrumors Core

alphaod

For 3-5 years, I think spending a bit more with worth it; your needs may expand and the additional power will be worthwhile.

RAM prices come down and certainly will SSD prices. You certainly can't get much of an SSD for $300 much less $220 after upgrading the RAM to 8GB. That's not to say $300 SSDs are not respectable in performance, but capacity will certainly be lacking.

Also you're an engineer, so I imagine you'll be using AutoCAD and other CPU intensive applications soon if you aren't already.

4. 1quick1 macrumors member