2.0 or 2.4 alum Macbook?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by lazyboy922, Jan 15, 2009.

1. lazyboy922 macrumors 6502

lazyboy922

I did a search, but didn't really come up with what I was looking for. I currently own a 2.16 white macbook, and want to upgrade.

I am a design professional (work mostly in CS3, not much video stuff), and was curious is the extra money for the 2.4 is worth it? I don't care about the larger harddrive, as I already have one I am going to put in there.

I have read the benchmarks, and see that the 2.4 is close to the new 15" MacBook Pro. I'd rather have the 13" screen as I use an external monitor. But if there isn't a huge difference in speed between the 2.0 and 2.4, i'll get the 2.0.

Any thoughts?

Again, sorry if this has been answered.

2. Lexoticstylez02 macrumors 6502a

Lexoticstylez02

Isn't much difference besides the bigger HDD and backlit keyboard, if neither matter you, go for the 2.0.

3. techster82 macrumors member

I figured I would throw my two cents in since I was in the same situation and made my purchase of a new Macbook today.

I went back and forth for a few days between the $1300 and $1600 models and ultimately picked the $1300. I basically listed the differences between the two and assigned values to the differences and what I couldn't upgrade myself. First off lets list the only differences between the two models:

Processor: 0.4 difference and can't be upgraded in the future
    Hard Drive: 90GB increase with the higher end model but EASILY upgradeable
    Keyboard: Backlit on the higher end model

Now the rule of thumb with notebooks has always been to purchase the best model you can because upgrades were hard to do and costly. Apple has done a great job of solving some of these problems by making the ram and hard drive very accessible.