2.0 pile of ****!

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by MacBoobsPro, Feb 14, 2008.

  1. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #1
    Thats right, you heard me!

    *To avoid the long ass rant scroll to the bottom and see my question. :mad:

    I dont often rant on here especially about Apple because the majority of their stuff is the dogs bollocks. But AppleTV 2.0 is the biggest pile of crap ever to come out of Cupertino. It really pains me to say it but, in my opinion, its true.

    PLEASE someone tell me how the hell to set up this **** of a device so I can easily switch between content on my ATV and stream from iTunes.

    In 1.0 I just went to Settings/Sources and chose between ATV or iTunes. In 2.0 I have to reinitialise the AppleTV with iTunes EVERYTIME I want to swap connections. That means I have to rekey in the pass number which erases everything on my ATV. So then when I want to revert back to the content on my ATV (again after another pass number and initialisation process) I have to resync everything again. I am so pissed off right now you wont f*****g believe it. I have punched my right stereo speaker and broken the outer casing on it as well as cut my hand. I know that might make me sound like some absolute dickhead but I assure you I am not I am just so VERY pissed off.

    Because of this pass key crap, everytime I have to break the connection between iTunes and the ATV to 'swap sources' it makes the AppleTV dissappear from iTunes and the only way to get it back is to unplug the thing from the wall, quit iTunes then turn ATV back on sit through the damn intro video then restart iTunes.

    Initial setup and syncing in 1.0 was a pain in the ass too. By the way, if you read the 2.0 manual it says 'Click Setup' next to your AppleTV in iTunes. Well it never shows up to 'click setup' until you connect via the AppleTV so I havent got a damn clue whats going on. All I know is the manual is about as useful as a runny turd on a stick. I wanted to chill out in front of the TV with a beer and relax but instead I have a busted speaker, a cut hand, a steaming head ache and I am severely pissed off.

    Its not as if i'm some kind of ATV retard, I've had mine since day one.

    *How do you connect your ATV 2.0 and how do you switch between synced content and streamed content?
     
  2. FreeState macrumors 68000

    FreeState

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #2
    Your trying to sync and stream from the same iTunes library correct?

    If so all you have to do is set up your iTunes as a synced library. Thats it - all the other content in the same iTunes library shows up under "my movies" etc and will be streamed when selected, even if its not synced. You do not need to set up a streaming connection under 2.0 if you are syncing with the library.

    I have just my photo's synced and all my other content shows up under the "My XXX's" in every menu.
     
  3. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #3
    It's really that easy? Hurry MacBoobs, delete your rant!!!!
     
  4. rWally macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #4
    Your synced and streamed content should all be under My Movies/My TV Shows etc. I'm pretty sure it's all in the same spot now.
     
  5. MacBoobsPro thread starter macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #5
    Try telling that to the ATV! When I try and set up a sync connection it automatically tries syncing all my 1000 items, even though I cancel the initial (stupid) auto sync and tell it to sync only selected items (which are set to none) it reattempts the sync EVERY item in my library. :mad:
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #6
    Yeah, it's impossible to decipher between synced content and iTunes content in Take 2.
     
  7. MacBoobsPro thread starter macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #7
    Nope because I cant have both connections because it keeps saying there is nothing on my ATV. So I try and set up a streaming conenction to which it asks me to enter a new pass key and inturn erases the drive.
     
  8. FreeState macrumors 68000

    FreeState

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #8
    Unclick that "show only synced items on my AppleTV" and all will be fine. You may need to click on the tabs and select what you want synced - its default is all, you must sync at least one thing though (I have photo's synced and then use my .mac for getting other images on it).
     
  9. kagharaht macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    #9
    Yes it is. I was also upset at first, but didn't rant like Mr boob there.. LOL

    Have to stop thinking the hard way like in Windows, and switch to the Mac way of thinking. After that, it was so clear and perfect they way Apple implemented the new sync/stream setup on the ATV. :)
     
  10. tothelimit macrumors regular

    tothelimit

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    South Florida
    #10
    uncheck the 'show only synced items on appletv' box. then it will show everything available to be streamed. all in the same spot as stuff that is synced.
     
  11. wmealer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    #11
    Apparently Take 2 is so simple it boggles the mind. :rolleyes:

    Punched your speaker, did you?

    Funny thing about Apple's programmers... They make all the options in iTunes do exactly what they say they do.
     
  12. MacBoobsPro thread starter macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #12
    :rolleyes: One ******* tick box!!!! And a useless one at that. What the hell use is that?

    Thanks FreeState you may have saved a few people tonight. I was close to a spree of some sort. :(

    And for those of you mocking how 'simple' it is to set up. Why is there nothing mentioned in the manual about the feature and why is it set to on by default? If you choose not to sync anything then obviously your streamed content wont show either. Making it look like you have a connection/set up problem because nothing appears on your ATV.
     
  13. tothelimit macrumors regular

    tothelimit

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    South Florida
    #13
    oops... didn't realized you already caught this in the screenshot as well. sorry! ;)
     
  14. FreeState macrumors 68000

    FreeState

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #14
    Yeah it would have been nice if Apple had prepared a guide on this for us all - it took me a day to figure out as well LOL.
     
  15. ipedro macrumors 68030

    ipedro

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #15
    LoL.. just goes to show you that angry people will take 10 times longer to do something than somebody who's calm and collected.

    Let this be a lesson that when you have a problem to solve, don't go howling at the moon. Relax. Breath. Look at your options. Solve the problem. ;)
     
  16. roland.g macrumors 603

    roland.g

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    One mile up and soaring
    #16
    Actually I think the new Apple TV set up is genius. Yes the interface is kind of kooky, I did like the old one better. And yes I would love to have my personal collection of movies sorted by Genre or in some sort of playlist style. But:

    I have more than 40 (or 32.xx)GB of Music, Movies, and Photos, so in the past I had to have some of my media synced but also set up the same computer for streaming. Now I don't have to. I simply select custom, do not check that box and then for each tab, tell it not to sync any music, movies, or podcasts, and sync all my photos. Now I have 11+GB of photos on my Apple TV and when I go into my Movies, or any of the my stuff, I can stream any content I want to, without having to switch sources. The only downside is that I have to leave iTunes running on my iMac and keep the computer from going to sleep. No Biggie. Something else I discovered, and this may have been the case with 1.x is that I have some movies ripped, and then a smaller subset of those movies repeated with the letter i at the end of the title b/c they are iPhone versions at 480x resolution. These smaller movies take up less space and I can fit more on my iPhone. Before I would see these on the list when I looked at my movies. Now I uncheck the box next to them in iTunes and they do not appear. But they still sync to my iPhone. This is because I did not check the box for my iPhone that says to sync only checked items.
     
  17. Sirus The Virus macrumors 6502a

    Sirus The Virus

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Location:
    Texas
    #17
    It's probably the Flux Capacitor, Apple should cover it.
     
  18. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #18
    Shopping I hope. ;)
     
  19. MacBoobsPro thread starter macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #19
    I was calm when I started. ;)

    I agree once its setup :rolleyes: its very good. Everything in one place is good. Its the tick box that is arguably ambiguous. You would think this option would relate to iTunes and the showing of the entire list of contents available to stream to your ATV. Why does it show all that stuff? You know what is available to stream because its in the playlists immediately below. I think this option should be on the ATV itself.[/QUOTE]


    I have over 300GBs worth of movies, TV shows and music and when you cant access it. It pisses you off! :D Don't get me started on the iPhone bit. :D I haven't looked into that yet. I do have a couple of 'iPhone ready' movies to sync to my phone.

    I believe the flux capacitor is only in Time Machine and Time Capsule. ;)
     
  20. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #20
    FWIW, I checked into this last night in iTunes and my check box was NOT ticked. I had custom syncing setup, so I don't know that it's the default setting.
     
  21. roland.g macrumors 603

    roland.g

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    One mile up and soaring
    #21
    It does not check the box under Custom by default. However, you do have to immediately go to each of the other tabs and tell it to sync selected instead of all, and then not select any. Except for photos.
     
  22. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #22
    I understand, MBP was asking why "Show only synced items" box was checked by default, of which I don't think it is.
     
  23. MacBoobsPro thread starter macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #23
    Well I'm not going to mess around trying to find out. I ran the update and then went to look at my library on ATV and nothing was there. I then noticed the iTunes connection was broken so resync'd and still nothing. After that it all started going down hill culminating in the rant above. :eek: Maybe it didnt update correctly? I remember the update actually took longer than the download and restarted around 4 times and at one point there was a popping sound and a flash of a green screen?
     
  24. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #24
    Not to worry, your rant led to an answer. Are you all good now?
     
  25. MacBoobsPro thread starter macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #25
    Yes. Apart from the lack of sound from my right speaker on my desk. :D
     

Share This Page