2.0 (SA345) firmware

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Dexter11, Jul 22, 2008.

  1. Dexter11 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    #1
    Did everyone who bought a 3G iPhone have the 2.0 (SA345) firmware? If so did you keep this or did you all restore to the 347?


    Cheers
     
  2. adamerr macrumors 6502a

    adamerr

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    #2
    i restored to 347.
    it fixed some of the problems (bugs) i was getting.
     
  3. Dexter11 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    #3
    Is that the random rebooting!
     
  4. adamerr macrumors 6502a

    adamerr

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    #4
    well, it decreased the severity of App freezes, changed the colour of the a backlight a bit.... etc.
     
  5. Dexter11 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    #5
    Excellent I am on it now!
     
  6. sunfast macrumors 68020

    sunfast

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #6
    Mine came with 5A345 and I haven't bothered changing it, haven't had any problems of note.
     
  7. higgalls macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    #7
    Yeah I haven't bothered changing it either. I will wait for a newer update from Apple.
     
  8. jk000 macrumors regular

    jk000

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    guys, how do i find out which firmware i have? and how do i get the new one > restore?
     
  9. Sweetbike40 macrumors 65816

    Sweetbike40

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    NY/NJ
    #9
    Go into settings, general, then About.

    Yes, restore it. Restoring will erase everything.

    I restored mine day one before i even synced it.
     
  10. jk000 macrumors regular

    jk000

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Nice one. This version has a glitch on the general>international>keyboard pane.
     
  11. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #11
    Mine was lagging in a few places the last few days, so I went to do a restore and, sure enough, iTunes upgraded me (hadn't even bothered to check the firmware version before). The file iTunes downloaded was 225MB, and told, the process took about 45 minutes (restore + resync).

    It seems smoother now, but I haven't played with it enough since the restore to know for sure that it did anything.
     
  12. PoitNarf macrumors 65816

    PoitNarf

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    #12
    You mean 5A345. S != 5
     
  13. bit_bucket macrumors regular

    bit_bucket

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    West By God VA
    #13
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    model='SA345'
    if [ $model = 'SA345' ]
    then
        echo 'OP made n00b mistake'
    fi
    
    Just kidding the OP of course. I got mine with the 5A345 as well but restored to 5A347. Haven't really noticed any changes. 347 is just a slow and buggy as 345. I am really looking forward to 2.0.1.
     
  14. superstrikertwo macrumors 65816

    superstrikertwo

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #14
    I restored mine to the 347 and it fixed some weird issue with the mail app just flashing randomly.
     
  15. Macsterling macrumors regular

    Macsterling

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas
    #15
    I did a restore and it updated to the 347 firmware. I would suggest everyone do this. I surprised that it doesn't automatically do it when you plug your phone instead of having to do a restore. Weird......
     
  16. mdecker79 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #16
    347 is nice but I get a nice echo on my BT on about 85% of my calls....


    345 didn't have this echo.
     
  17. mdecker79 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #17
    I take this back....

    I just made a call using the iPhone without bluetooth and I had the same echo..... So I guess it's not a BT problem.

     
  18. Dexter11 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    #18
    Yeah sorry I do/did mean 5A345 nd not SA345 opps

    I did the restore and I am happy that there has been no random reboots but some of the apps start to load then crash and go back to the home screen!

    Shame - I was unable to play Monkey Ball untill a restert - Anoying! roll on 2.0.1


    http://images.macrumors.com/vb/images/smilies/eek.gif
     
  19. thefunkymunky macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #19
    Because its still the same version number, 2.0 - its only the build that's changed. Apple obviously don't think it was much different to 5A345 to be released as a new version.
     

Share This Page