2.0Ghz Dual Core Power Mac G5 Questions

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by BradT96, Oct 10, 2015.

  1. BradT96 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Location:
    Cannock
    #1
    I have one of the last models made for the Power Mac G5

    Do you think this could be used today for a music studio machine, and video editing, of course I'll be using older versions of things but would this be okay for that?

    I have 2.5GB of ram

    Also I'm in the process of installing 10.5 off the retail disk, every time I press next it says this machine cannot install Mac OS X, or something along those lines, I'm using two refurbished 80GB SATA drives, would I need to format these to Mac OS extended for it to work and is this the problem? Thanks
     
  2. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Central US
    #2
    Music shouldn't be a problem assuming it can run the software you want. Video editing will obviously be a slower process, but G5s can cut video. Make sure you are not just erasing the drives, but once you boot from the DVD, Open up Disk Utility and select the drive you want to install onto and select the "Partition" tab. Click the "Options" button and make sure the button for Apple Partition Map is selected. If it was an old PC drive it will probably be Master Boot Record, which won't allow you to boot from the drive.
     
  3. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #3
    Regarding Leopard, at the install screen format the drives with Disk Utility, as you correctly said, as Mac OS ext - exit Disk Utility and install.

    The Powermac G5 is a fantastic audio workstation - using period software, you'll be amazed at it's performance :)
    Video as well - as long you are using uncompressed formats for the editing stage - it's a terrific machine.
     
  4. BradT96 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Location:
    Cannock
    #4
    Thank you guys, will try later, really helpful! I thought these machines were obsolete, but I really rate them, they are beautiful machines!
     
  5. Greene macrumors regular

    Greene

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
    Location:
    Fort Worth
    #5
    My first music rig was a single 1.8 PM, your dual 2.0 will do nicely! Logic 8 / 9 and Native Instruments Komplete (5 I think?) are amazing tools to this day. If you have some cash for upgrades, more ram or a faster HD wouldn't be a bad idea. As to which comes first it depends on how you structure your tracks, and whether you rely more on recorded audio or software instruments / plugins.
     
  6. BradT96 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Location:
    Cannock
    #6
    Hey thanks for replying, I've just set it all up, on leopard, all security updates installed and ready to go!

    Right do you know how I can go about getting that software, especially older versions of stuff for PPC

    Also what interface could I buy, as most recent ones don't work with leopard, I have a focusrite iTrack solo which would of done nicely...

    I'll just be using my HD TV for a monitor, the power Mac fits nicely by it!
     
  7. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #7
    It all depends on the type of music you make.
    Keeping it basic, a quarter inch jack plug adaptor allows you to plug a guitar straight into the G5 and even Garageband has an incredible amount of onboard effects and amp simulators built in and is compatible with Logic, which older versions can be had on ebay cheap enough.
    You could also consider Reaper as a DAW, which can be used free and caters for Power PC.
     
  8. BradT96 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Location:
    Cannock
    #8
    Yeah it's only maybe to make basic tracks with guitar, some effects, maybe vocals if that can be done too, idk how I'd go about adding drums, probably garage band, I think iLife 09 is the last release that supported PPC? So any cheap adapter will work? There's ones for like £3-4 or if you wanna send me link to one that will be fine, if you don't mind :)
     
  9. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #9
    In Garageband you can add drum loops or build them from scratch - loops are useful just to quickly get going.
    As for adaptors, this would go into your guitar then you need a 3.5mm lead going to the G5:
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/6-35mm-Mo...e-Converter-/370613642151?hash=item564a4b63a7

    Or use this plugged into the G5 and plug a standard guitar lead into it:
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/6-35mm-1-...Mixing-Deck-/251154249067?hash=item3a79f5b56b

    Obviously these are low end options, a dedicated interface is better but you can always get that later after you're happy with the system.
    Personally I use a Novation X-Station, which is a stand alone Synth that's also a USB controller keyboard and audio interface.
     
  10. BradT96 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Location:
    Cannock
    #10
    cheers! i'm currently replying from the G5 Now! runs nice and smooth!

    also a little off topic but im confused with the memory it says i have 4200U and 3200U installed, does this mean anything and how would i go about upgrading it?
    Picture 1.png
     
  11. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #11
    The 1Gb sticks you have are slower than the 256Mb sticks - it's not a problem, the machine will clock the memory to the lower speed but as and when you wish to upgrade, that model can take 16Gb, though 4 or 6 is more than enough.
    Don't forget to look up on here all the optimisations for Leopard - the G5 has plenty of grunt but if you want to squeeze out a little more power there are options. Also consider alternatives for your browser if it's going to be online a lot - TenFourFox or Leopard Webkit are a must.
     
  12. BradT96 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Location:
    Cannock
    #12
    Thanks for all the useful info!

    So I can buy any speed ram it will just get clocked by the motherboard? It just has to be DDR2 SDRAM?
     
  13. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #13
  14. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #14
    Cex.co.uk (there is a branch in the centre of Cannock) can be cheaper than eBay as a source for RAM and older hard drives. Worth checking online.
     
  15. Greene macrumors regular

    Greene

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
    Location:
    Fort Worth
    #15
    As far as interfaces go, search the site sound on sound for interface reviews from that period in time. Most of those contemporary interfaces will be G5 / logic / garageband compatible, and that site in general is a good resource to be aware of.

    Legally, most of this software needs to be bought. Ebay is really your best bet, though if you build up a nice relationship with your local audio guy at the apple store, they might be able to point you elsewhere (as in they or someone they know has a copy they don't use anymore).

    Illegally, most of it is available readily. I'll give you my opinion: Logic is well worth whatever you'd pay for it, if only for having all the extra content in disk form. I've illegally downloaded things, but I ended up buying copies of Komplete and Logic 8 for my G5 because the software is soooo worth it and not expensive if you can wait for a deal.
     
  16. BradT96 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Location:
    Cannock
    #16
    I'm so happy guys!

    Just plugged my iTrack solo in, which claims is only compatible from 10.7, but it works great on leopard and it's fully working on garage band with guitar and vocals!

    But also I ordered two 1GB sticks of ram which came today, and they worked in the machine for about an hour then the fans went all high and told me to restart, I did a process of elimination and tried all ram sticks in different slots, it doesn't like the ram I brought! But it worked for a while? Just wondering why this happened!

    Also got a DVI TO HDMI converter today and the graphics card is displaying 1080p It's the Nvidia 6600, which I think is one of the better ones?

    Anyway I'm glad my audio interface is working! Down to 2GB at the moment though :(
     

    Attached Files:

  17. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #17
    The nVidia 6600LE is the card that shipped with the DC G5s and is adequate. If your primary focus is audio rather than graphics or gaming there is nothing to be gained from replacing it - especially as better cards are fan cooled, which adds to background noise.
     
  18. BradT96 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Location:
    Cannock
    #18
    Do you think I should invest in some monitor speakers, would I need a pci sound card too?
     
  19. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #19
    Those are questions to which only your own ears will know the answer. Onboard soundcards mid-Noughties were leaps and bounds better than those that came with PCs around the turn of the millennium. Having said that, high end 3rd party soundcards exist for a reason. It really depends upon your ambitions. Bear also in mind that a good card will probably cost as much as a G5, so if you are looking to spend that much you probably should be looking at a newer Mac in the first place because of continued support.
     
  20. Greene macrumors regular

    Greene

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
    Location:
    Fort Worth
    #20
    Not sure why you would need a PCI sound card? Maybe if you have a use for it. As far as speakers go, meh, they're nice to have, and can be had for fairly cheap. If you don't have a pair of nice headphones with a flat EQ, I'd go for them first though.
     
  21. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #21
    A sound card is only useful if you need more line-out/in ports. Other than that, the default ports should work fine
     
  22. Greene macrumors regular

    Greene

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
    Location:
    Fort Worth
    #22
    Yeah that makes sense, I guess I'm a child of the 2000s and this has always been taken care of on the interface for me.
     
  23. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #23
    OS X Core Audio is more than capable for the basics - although a PCI/External interface is great for extra IN/OUT and obviously MIDI.
    I'd say don't get distracted by getting more gear, you'll fall into the endless loop of thinking the reason you can't be creative is because you need..........
    I've always found, the less you have to work with, the more creative you are.
     
  24. Garrod macrumors regular

    Garrod

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #24
    I'm with you on that man! Pre G3 days I got so clogged up with gear that cost a fortune that was barely used in the end. My last PowerPC was a G4 iMac and that was ample enough for my semi-professional needs; granted, it meant being more creative with recording solutions but that made it more of a challenge and, I dare to say, a better output of work.
     
  25. GoldfishRT macrumors 6502

    GoldfishRT

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #25
    While I'll totally agree limitations can inspire creativity, nothing is worse than knowing exactly what you want to make and not having the tools to do it. It's a double edged sword. Forced limitations suck. Limitations you create for yourself can be fun.
     

Share This Page