2.16 core 2 duo macbook RAM upgrade

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by treyjustice, Feb 17, 2010.

  1. treyjustice macrumors 65816

    treyjustice

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Location:
    TX
    #1
    I have the 2.16 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, it is 2 1/2 years old

    with 2 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM and 160 GB toshiba 5400 RPM HDD (apple just replaced cause my 120 GB HDD just failed)

    Can I upgrade my RAM to 4 GB? Can I get DDR3? Has anyone done this? Will it make a difference?

    Any site where I can get the RAM relatively cheap?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Reelknead1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    #3
    Someone please correct me if I'm incorrect,

    I believe that the 2.16 MB's have a max supported RAM of 2gb.
     
  3. treyjustice thread starter macrumors 65816

    treyjustice

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Location:
    TX
    #4
    That is what apple says. But what I've seen most people say 4 GB?
     
  4. lokster macrumors 6502

    lokster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    #5
    4gb costs alot now, i think about 80$.

    www.newegg.com thats where i buy my ram

    yeah definitely a big step up, apple says 2gb max but ive seen people say 4gb personally im still on 2gb and might up to 4gb later
     
  5. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #6
    All Core 2 Duo Macs can take 4GB of RAM. Those based on the older chipsets (pre-Santa Rosa Platform) will only see 3GB of the 4GB inserted so you might want to save a little money and insert 3gb (1 1gb and 1 2gb).
     
  6. treyjustice thread starter macrumors 65816

    treyjustice

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Location:
    TX
    #7
    does mine have the older chipset?
     
  7. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #8
    Yes.
     
  8. treyjustice thread starter macrumors 65816

    treyjustice

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Location:
    TX
    #9
    okay so would I be better off just getting a 2 GB stick and replacing one of the 1 GB sticks with it? or should I get a 4 GB package?
     
  9. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #10
    Up to you. There will be no real speed advantage with 2 2GB sticks. You could always buy one now and if/when the prices fall later buy another but I would suspect you will be happy with 3GB assuming you do anything that requires it. Have you looked in Activity Monitor to see if you require more RAM? Look at the pageins/pageouts. If the ratio is less than 10, you could use more RAM, otherwise stay with what you have.
     
  10. treyjustice thread starter macrumors 65816

    treyjustice

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Location:
    TX
    #11
    I know I don't require it but I wouldn't mind the extra speed. Just wondering if it would make a noticeable difference
     
  11. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #12
    If you don't require it, you won't see any speed difference. The extra speed comes from not having to swap memory out to disk.
     
  12. lokster macrumors 6502

    lokster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    #13
    the speed difference is when your running much more stuff.
     

Share This Page