2.16Ghz/2.5Gb Ram MacBook super slow bootup.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by EHUnlucky7x9@ao, Sep 10, 2007.

  1. EHUnlucky7x9@ao macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
    Ok, so my Macbook is the mid-range current models. Whenever I turn it on...the computer stays on a white screen for a few seconds, then goes blue for a few more seconds, then Mac OS X, and then the bar flies right through and takes me to the desktop.

    I never had that initial white screen when booting up.... from what i remember. Those Macbook users.... anyone in the same boat as me?

    Is it b/c of Tiger 10.4.10?
     
  2. WillJS macrumors 65816

    WillJS

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    #2
    Although it's not as bad as Windows computers, using the Mac computer does slow boot time a little. Also, I see you've added RAM (correct? Apple doesn't ship with 2.5gb), that would also contribute because the computer is cacheing (correct terminology?) the RAM at startup.
     
  3. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #3
    MacBook Mid-Level Bootup...

    2.16GHz w/2GB SDRAM takes all of (20) SECONDS. That's pretty fast in comparison to my wife's Fujitsu Notebook w/Windows XP that takes about (5) minutes. I've used Panther and earlier versions of Tiger, so I've only noticed how much faster the bootup is currently with my new MacBook.
     
  4. Jiddick ExRex macrumors 65816

    Jiddick ExRex

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Location:
    Roskilde, DK
    #4
    What be this 'boot up' thou art talking about?
     
  5. ElCambo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    #5
    download a program called Cocktail or MainMenu. Run the task things it has, it will clear up unnecessary crap on your mac and significantly increase the boot speed. Mine use to stay on the blank white screen for about 20 seconds now it takes about 4 until hte logo appears.
     
  6. EHUnlucky7x9@ao thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #6
    Which of the two is preferably better?
     
  7. ElCambo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    #7
    I preferred Cocktail, but you only get a trial of it and then you have to pay. I would recommend using Cocktail first because it seems easier to use, and when the trial runs out switch to mainmenu. by then you will be more familiar with it and mainmenu should suit you fine.
     
  8. GlynJones macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    #8
    I'm guessing here but did your MacBook arrive with 1gig memory (2 x 512mb) and you removed one of them and replaced with a 2gig module making 2.5gig?

    If you your memory is unbalanced which with the integrated graphics could be the cause of your slow startup.

    Have you tried putting the original memory module back in and seeing if the startup times are the same?
     
  9. EHUnlucky7x9@ao thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #9
    I just used MainMenu and everything has sped up again. That's weird though. When I first got the computer from Cybergypsy, the comp booted up unbelievably fast, then it started to take like 2 minutes.... but now after using MainMenu, it's lessened its load time to a few seconds again. Thanks for the help!
     
  10. Cybergypsy macrumors 68040

    Cybergypsy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    Central Florida!
    #10
    it was super fast no slowdowns. humm another 2G stick maybe ???
     
  11. rychencop macrumors 65816

    rychencop

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    http://www.northaugusta.net/
    #11
    That was my thought also.
     
  12. Matek macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #12
    Haven't heard of "unbalanced memory" yet, at least not in this way. The only thing that happens when you use different size modules is that dual channel stops working. Other than that there shouldn't be a problem with 2048 + 512.


    I think you meant something else there. The whole memory surely does not need to be cached @ bootup (it works in the opposite way - things are usually cached INTO memory), especially because it is mostly empty. The only similar thing that comes to my mind is a memory check, that could take a while longer because there is more RAM to check, but you wouldn't be able to notice that, it would take a part a second more.
     
  13. Sceneshifter macrumors 6502

    Sceneshifter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    #13
    I thought 2Gig of ram was the maximum in a macbook ?
     
  14. Matek macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #14
    Officially - yes.

    Unofficially - Anything up to 3 GB (2+1 modules) works without a problem, while more than that may cause problems. People who used 2+2 GB modules reported that some of the ram doesn't get recognised and you end up with 3.3, but (IIRC, not sure) dual channel works (while with 1+2 it doesn't) so memory-wise the maximum you can pull off with a macbook is 3.3 GB of ram with dual channel.
     

Share This Page