2.16GHz MacBook and 4GB Ram Memory.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Mir3, Sep 3, 2009.

  1. Mir3 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #1
    hi.
    i want to upgrade my MacBook (MB063B/A) to 4GB.
    this is spec of my machine:

    Model Name: MacBook
    Model Identifier: MacBook2,1
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2.16GHz
    L2 Cache: 4 MB
    Memory: 1GB
    Buss Speed: 667MHz

    Chipset Model: GMA 950

    does anyone on this forum done that by using: 4GB kit (2GBx2), 200-pin SODIMM, DDR2 PC2-5300 memory module (CT2KIT25664AC667) ? what's yours experience?

    thanks.
     
  2. walnuts macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #2
    I recommend going to http://www.crucial.com/mac/index.aspx and using their Mac memory advisor tool. That should tell you exacly what will fit in your macbook. I've bought memory from them three times using their advisor tool and never went wrong.
     
  3. Mir3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #3
  4. Mir3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #4
    I've got a message from Crucial which partially clarify my issue:

    "We go by the manufacturer's official specifications of a system when we recommend memory upgrades. When we deviate from them it is only because we have found, through thorough testing in our performance testing lab, that the specifications may have been too conservative. Since we have not consistently been able to prove that all new MacBooks can recognize 4GB, we don't recommend it to our customers"

    thanks.
     
  5. apunkrockmonk macrumors 6502a

    apunkrockmonk

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #5
    If I'm not mistaken that sounds like a late 2006 black MacBook.

    If it is, it will recognize ~3.3GB out of the 4GB of ram you are planning on installing.
     
  6. Mir3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #6
    macbook 2.16GHz memory upgrade

    hi. just to let you know.
    i upgrade my macbook by using crucial memory...(see previous posts)
    all went smooth no problems at all...
    thanks.
     

Share This Page