2.16GHz Macbook Pro Re-Incarnation...need lots of help!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ThisSideDownatk, Aug 4, 2010.

1. ThisSideDownatk macrumors newbie

Okay here's the problem...

I currently have a 15" macbook pro from around the 2006 era (model#: a1150) and i need to bring this thing back to life. not quite sure whats wrong but I know i need to have my logic board repaired/fixed/replaced, and don't know exactly how to go about doing this. I have a working ibook g4 1.33ghz (using right now) and want to possibly trade this thing for the parts i need to rebuild my MB pro...anyone have any ideas or help? Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated on where to begin on this reconstruction...I'm a novice to the world of apple computers so go easy and try not to flame this thread up because im seriously trying to learn all the knowledge i can as you can never stop learning in this life, and i severely need to learn how to wake my laptop up from the dead since it hasn't been used in quite some time now. Email me! ThisSideDownATK@aim.com Thanks guys and gals...Tomorrow's another day!

2. d4nn0 macrumors member

d4nn0

The first important thing: if you're not sure about it, don't attempt it yourself! Although replacing a logic board is very possible, you can also waste $100s and still have nothing at the end.

Secondly, if you feel confident poking around inside your MBP, look at iFixit: http://www.ifixit.com/Mac-Parts/MacBook-Pro-15"-Model-A1150 . This page has a list of parts for your machine, and also, the relevant guides for how to replace the parts once you have your hands on the replacements.

My honest advice:
    a) Don't trade the G4: you're going to need it to read instructions off of and come here for help if necessary