2.4 ghz 8 core Mac pro 2010 run smoothly on AE CS5 and C4D R12?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Mackenna, Aug 18, 2011.

  1. Mackenna macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    #1
    Hi, just bought a new Mac Pro with the following specs:
    8 core 2x2.4 ghz
    5770 ati card
    2 TB Hard drive

    Will be getting 32gig of Ram (8x4) from OWC in a couple of days.

    I am a print designer but would like to move into the motion graphics industry. The intended use for this machine are:
    1) To sharpen my After Effects skills
    2) Learn Cinema 4D so can create a portfolio reel to get real work. Goal is to hopefully show something by Jan 2012.
    3) Do real work with this machine in case I need to work from home.
    4) Use a handful amount of plug-ins for both apps
    5) I know there is no way to future proof a computer but ideally would like it to last me around 5 years.
    6) Run cs5 photoshop, illustrator, indesign, flash, dreamweaver

    I did some research and read a lot on forums about 4 vs. 8 vs. 12 on cores, iMac vs. Mac Pro, and clock speed vs. amount of ram and etc. After doing all that research I decided on the specs mentioned due to budget constrains and longevity. But now I am thinking that maybe the 2.4ghz might be (too) slow even though there are 2 of them. Thinking should return the one I just ordered (which I will be getting next Monday) and order another one with the 2 x 2.66 ghz / 12 core, a higher clock speed. This means I have to fork out $1300 more which is beyond my budget and I don't really want to do this.

    So my questions are:
    1) I plan to do some complex scenes that involves lots of layers and lighting with these apps. Will I be able to do this with the slower clock speed at a decent rendering time? I don't want to wait 4 hrs to render a 5 sec high resolution video clip.
    2) With the 2 x 2.4ghz, will the apps lag when i move things around or use certain afx? Will I be seeing a lot of the beach ball spinning every time i make a move?
    3) What is the speed difference between the 2.4 and 2.66 provided that they both have 32 gig of memory and same graphics card? Is it 10% or 30%?
    3) The machine with the 12 core, is 32 gig more than enough or does it need more since the more cores=more overhead=more ram usage? each core needs at least 2 gig to run smoothly. (2x12=24 gig minimum) leaving 8 gigs to go where ever needs it.
    4) This is a stupid question but does clock speed affect the type of plug-ins i can use on these apps? Are there plug-ins that require a higher clock speed than 2.4? If so what are they?

    I know that both AE and C4d eats up as many memory and cores as the machine throws at it. Therefore the higher clock speed is better. But will the slower clock speed be fast enough so i don't have to burn the midnight oil every time i work in these apps? Will it slow down my work flow by 30%-50%?

    Sorry if i am being repetitive in my questions. Any advise/information is much appreciated!
     
  2. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #2
    You should be fine for now. You wont win any speed contests with general Adobe apps but this is not a primary concern. You can always upgrade the processors later and make it up to a 12-core 3.46GHz monster (Sweet spot being the 3.2 hex). I think with budget constraints in mind and the need to have so much RAM, you made a good choice. The 2.66 12-core would be faster more because of 4 more cores than the marginal clock boost. If clocks end up being important in your work go for something over 3GHz or the boost wont be too noticeable.
     
  3. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #3
    "Smoothly" all depends on exactly what you are doing, but yeah, that should be fine.
     
  4. Mackenna, Aug 18, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2011

    Mackenna thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    #4
    Thanks guys!
    More questions.
    Will having lots of ram make up for the slow clock speed? For example, if the machine were to have 64 gig of ram. Will this help make the processor faster, even a little bit? If so how much faster do you think?

    I know that AE and C4D eat up as many rams as the machine can throw. But is there such a thing as that it can only take up to certain amount of ram, then the left over ram will not be utilized, thus wasted? For example, if the machine has 96 gig of ram will it be able to utilize all 96 or just a percentage of that because that is a lot of ram?

    Can an SSD help with the slow clock speed? if so how much in terms of percentage? or does SSD only affect app booting time?

    Sorry for being so paranoid and annoying but does anyone here (who ever is reading this) have a mac pro with this spec? If so what are you using it for, what apps?
     
  5. accessoriesguy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    #5
    other devices can't help a slower clock speed every device is responsible for its own thing.

    So if you have the fastest RAM on the planet but a super slow processor, things would still go super slow and vice versa.

    Your computer will be able to use all of the RAM, 64-bit architecture allows for up to like 2TB of RAM or some ridiculous amount.

    An SSD would be especially helpful jump in performance, the general bottlenekc of Computers now a days are the ability to access information from the hard drive. SSD's really shorten the time period. check out OWC for their latest and greatest SSD's. You can always try a RAID configuration of conventional drives, or be mad and RAID a couple of SSD's. SSDs help everyone out thanks to their high data transfer rates.
     
  6. Mackenna thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    #6
    UPDATE
    After all the responses I got. I did more research and ended up returning the 2010 2x2.4ghz mac pro for a refurbished 2009 2x2.93. Came with the Nvidia GeForce 120 graphics card. Might have to upgrade that later. Also bought Apple Care.

    Both machines cost about the same. more power in exchange for older/used model. hope I made the right choice.

    I would like to thank all the people who has given advises relating to this topic. It really helps!!
     
  7. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #7
    Good choice. Better all around. But yeah, upgrade that GPU. It sucks.
     
  8. jian macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #8
    I'll be buying the same Mac Pro as the one you just bought. Tell me about it, what do you think about it? like it so far? :cool::apple:
    I wanted to wait for the next update, but my budget wouldn't allow me to wait since I'm using the 12month financing to finance half of that Mac Pro, but I really need a fast Mac to do all the After Effects and Final Cut works, maybe some blender too.
    The reason I'm not going for the iMac is that, iMac is basically a super fast Macbook... without the portability, and with a giant screen. so no go for me.
    People also recommended me the Refurbs, but after student discount, refurbs are only about 100-180 cheaper, and I will get a $100 App Store gift card..so hey, why not just go for a brand new one...

    correct me if I'm wrong, although the outer shell will be new, the inside will be used and say if a harddrive last for 5 years, that refurb might last only 4 years, correct?
     
  9. Mackenna, Aug 23, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2011

    Mackenna thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    #9



    Mine won't be delivered until next week. I can give you an update once I have it all set up and start using the apps but mine is a refurb 2009 old/used not the new 2010. it sounds like you are getting the 2010 but same ghz right?

    as for the life of a refurb being shorter than the new one i don't know anything about that. i hope its not like you said. i have read many posts saying refurb are as good as new. but from personal experience a new tower can crap out after 4 years. it happened to my old tower. i think these machines are made to last 4-6 years max.

    does anybody know if what jian said is true?
     

Share This Page