2.53 vs 2.8 MBP for college engineering student?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by deanmadoo, Feb 20, 2009.

1. deanmadoo macrumors member

I am going to college in about 3 months and I'm deciding on which one to get between the

2.8Ghz or the 2.53Ghz

I am planing to use this computer for all 4 years of college
    and some gaming, photoshop and video editing from time to time.

Is the 2.53Ghz going to be enough for all 4 years of engineering program?

Is the 2.8Ghz worth it?
    If its not necessary I would not want to spend the extra money.

2. djl macrumors newbie

No, stick with the 2.53Ghz and spend the extra $ on a bigger 7200 rpm HDD

3. FarSeide macrumors 6502a

FarSeide

what kind of engineering program are you getting into ? CS ?

I'm a programmer so I use quite a bit of CPU/Memory intensive programs so any extra power I can get out of CPU/Memory helps.

If your planning on using the MBP for the next 4 years, I would go for the 2.8 with 4G RAM, which is standard on 2.8 model.

Good luck...

4. masse macrumors 6502a

masse

I am currently in one of the top programs in the country for aerospace engineering. You will be fine with the 2.53. It rapes games. The only difference in clock speed will be seen when rendering stuff. But that will be done on desktops at the university. I used a 1.33 ghz g4 for my first year and a half. It was fine for the one matlab class I took.

But do what will make you happy. And wait for a refresh.

5. deanmadoo thread starter macrumors member

no matter which clock speed i get i will get the 7200rpm drive:)

I will be studying in Aerospace Engineering.

But will the 2.53Ghz do?

My university's computers are very old and there arn't that many.
    And do you think the refresh will be in time for my purchase in about three months?

6. war eagle macrumors 6502a

Aerospace eh? I dont think your gonna need a super computer, more a super calculator.