2.5gb of ram in ibook?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by gooser, Jan 12, 2015.

  1. gooser macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2013
    #1
    someone on e-bay is advertising a 1.42ghz ibook with 2.5gb of ram in it. is this even physically possible?
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #2
    My daughter has that iBook.

    The answer is no.
     
  3. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #3
    I'm not aware of any G4 based computer that can take over 2gb.

    That model iBook has 512mb on board and a slot that can take up to a 1gb SO-DIMM.

    There's a possibility someone crammed a 2gb SO-DIMM in there(I'm not even sure if these exist in DDR-1), but I expect the computer would either just ignore it or read it as 1gb.
     
  4. Gamer9430 macrumors 68020

    Gamer9430

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Location:
    Central New Jersey, USA
    #4
    I just got an iBook G4 and I'm going to stick in a 1 GB RAM card, is there only one slot for ram?
     
  5. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #5
    Yes. Your max ram is the 1gb+whatever is soldered to the board.

    12" PB G4s are the same way.
     
  6. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #6
    yes. there is 512 mb soldered and one free slot.
     
  7. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #7
    The amount soldered depends on the model. The earliest had 128mb, most had 256, and only the last generation(1.33ghz 12", 1.42ghz 14") had 512mb soldered.

    My 1.2ghz 12"(late 2004) has 256mb on board, therefore the max ram is 1.25gb.
     
  8. Gamer9430 macrumors 68020

    Gamer9430

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Location:
    Central New Jersey, USA
    #8
    mine has the 512mb soldered onto it. I need to find a DDR 1gb stick of ram and then I'll be good. Currently I only have another 512 stick inside.
     
  9. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #9
    I have one. PM me
     

Share This Page