2.6 15" MBP and 30" ACD

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by thetoness, Mar 4, 2008.

  1. thetoness macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #1
    How well does the new 15" MBP 2.6 drive a 30" ACD? Would you expect that it would be able to drive any new 30" ACD that apple may come out with when it upgrades it monitors?
     
  2. bmcgrath macrumors 65816

    bmcgrath

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    #2
    It will run it fine. Just as well as any other previous gen MBP....
     
  3. cherry su macrumors 65816

    cherry su

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #3
    If the resolution doesn't go up, then your Pro will drive any 30" screen fine. Relax and enjoy your lappie. :D
     
  4. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #4
    It has Dual Link DVI. You should be fine for a screen up to 60"+.

    TEG
     
  5. thetoness thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #5
    Will it suffice for CS3, Lightroom and some gaming?

    In my original post forgot to say I will be using it for CS3, Lightroom and gaming, would it still be sufficient? If that is the case then there doesnt appear to be a need to get a mac pro, am I right here?
     
  6. valvehead macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    Two of my friends each have a Merom (pre-SR) MBP hooked up to a 30" ACD. They use PS, AutoCAD, and various 3D modeling apps. No problems.

    The 30" displays are already at or near the maximum possible resolution available from dual-link DVI @ 60Hz. I don't think they can't increase the resolution without decreasing the refresh rate.

    DVI info
     

Share This Page