2.66 or 2.93 that is the question

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by raw911, Mar 3, 2009.

  1. raw911 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    #1
    I am considering selling my mac pro 2x3ghz dual core and going to the new MP ... i do a lot of video editing and photography work and looking for some feed back on would the 2.66 be enough or just swing for the fence and go 2.93 [both 8 cores] ... all feed back is certainly welcome .. also confused about the video card ... looking at the 4870 .. now i have 2 30in displays would that card support both using dvi or do i need that dual mini adapter?

    or maybe i should ask is anyone getting the 8 core 2.66 rather than the 8 core 2.93 and why?

    well i guess my question is answered ,... thanks all .. :rolleyes:
     
  2. Fomaphone macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    #2
    i went with the 2.66 because the extra money wasn't worth the jump to 2.93... 10% clock boost for a thousand dollars?

    i use my computer very heavily, and i know i'll miss that extra power on 10 hour renders... but honestly, i won't care on 10 minute renders, which are a lot more common.
     
  3. xgman macrumors 601

    xgman

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #3
    Asside from mem capacity limit, what would be the hit between the 2.6 - 8 core vs the single 2.9 quad core system?
     
  4. The Ditch macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    #4
    I'm going with the octo 2.93, though price really isn't an issue with me. If price were an issue I could see going with the lesser chip.
     
  5. sjivan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    #5
    Just wondering if you do think that the 2.26 --> 2.66 upgrade is worth it. After all it is $1400 more. Do you not think 2.26 is fast enough?
     
  6. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #6
    Wait for benchmarks of the 2.26GHz parts if you can.
     
  7. gilroykilroy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #7
    Looks like one display will connect directly to DVI and the second will need the adapter.
     
  8. raw911 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    #8

    ok but cant u just use the $29 if its just for one display? why are they saying you have to get the dual adapter for $99? :confused:
     
  9. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #9
    What is your display?
     
  10. deze macrumors member

    deze

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Well, I will continue to use my quad G5 2.5 until we see either a bump and Snow Leopard (later this year) or perhaps some excellent benchmarks on the the new models.

    Everything seems a little premature at the moment IMO
     
  11. gilroykilroy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #11
    Not if you want to get full resolution on a larger (say 30") display. Those are dual link. I have just one ;) Dell 30" so I am ok. If I had two I would need the dual link adapter (plus a very good excuse for the Mrs. as to why I had TWO 30" monitors and she had none....)
     

Share This Page