2.6ghz vs. 2.7ghz on next gen MBP - is there a big difference?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by stazi, Jun 11, 2012.

1. stazi macrumors newbie

Hi guys - long time lurker :)

Is there a noticeable difference between the two chips? I would like something relatively future-proof (upgrade mac every 3 years). I'm not a technical expert so in my mind paying for a '4% upgrade' is odd. Then again I'm sure that it's not really 4% but some other big difference...?

Thanks

2. mobilebuddha macrumors regular

unless you got $ to burn, skip that upgrade. you won't be able to tell the difference.

3. PAPO macrumors 6502

for me the biggest differance COULD be cache, if it's got a larger cache I'll pay the extra money 'cause I intend on keeping it for as long as possible and more cache will make more difference than 100Mhz

4. vladzaharia macrumors regular

That's not how the caches work. Keeping it longer would be affected by RAM far more than the L2/3/4 caches. Those are for very low level operations and they don't offer much space for storage.

5. jcpb macrumors 6502a

100MHz faster base speed, 100MHz faster top turbo speeds, 8MB shared L3 cache.

Is the 2.7 worth the $190 over the 2.6? Difficult question. That has to do with what you're using the new MBP for.

6. PAPO macrumors 6502

I know that, but it still makes a difference, 'cause onboard cache is the fastest storage the CPU has access too, when that's full everything else goes to ram, than after that things go to mass storage (but that's generally long term these days given 8GB of ram is pretty hard to fill day to day)

but on a side note, I think people underestimate the effect clock can have, I have a gaming PC with a 3.06Ghz i7 950 and I was blown away by the improvement 600Mhz gave me, even though I've NEVER hit more than 50% CPU load prior to over-clocking. yes this is only 100Mhz but if your doing something intensive for long enough the time you save will add up

7. vladzaharia macrumors regular