Jul 30, 2010
San Francisco
I'm going to buy a 15" rMBP soon and plan to buy the following configuration:

Turbo Boost up to 3.7GHz
16GB 1600MHz memory
512GB flash storage1
Intel HD Graphics 4000
NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M with 1GB of GDDR5 memory

But I can't decide wether it's worth $250 to upgrade the processor to 2.8ghz instead of 2.7ghz.

I'm a freelance videographer and photographer, I use my Mac for video editing in FCS and photo editing in Adobe creative suite. Is it worth $250? Thanks in advance.

cirus

macrumors 6502a
Mar 15, 2011
I'm going to buy a 15" rMBP soon and plan to buy the following configuration:

Turbo Boost up to 3.7GHz
16GB 1600MHz memory
512GB flash storage1
Intel HD Graphics 4000
NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M with 1GB of GDDR5 memory

But I can't decide wether it's worth $250 to upgrade the processor to 2.8ghz instead of 2.7ghz.

I'm a freelance videographer and photographer, I use my Mac for video editing in FCS and photo editing in Adobe creative suite. Is it worth $250? Thanks in advance.
No. Literally only a few % difference (unnoticeable outside of benchmarks). If you are making lost of money and you absolutely need more speed (like something gets done in 9:45 vs 10:00) then it might be worthwhile. But generally if you have to ask then you probably don't need it.

TheBearman

macrumors 6502
May 23, 2008
Cary, NC
It really is just 3% faster in benchmarks with the .1mhz and 2mb of additional cache. Even with your processor intensive work it really is hard to justify.

Pentad

macrumors 6502a
Nov 26, 2003
Indiana
Is it worth $250? Thanks in advance.

I'm not trying to sound arrogant, but I am a professional user. I have 9 spaces running and each space has an intense application running. I use multiple VMs, multiple IDEs, and DBMS.

I normally purchase the upgraded CPU for the following reasons: