2.7-2.8ghz: worth the money?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by IKBest, May 27, 2013.

1. IKBest macrumors member

I'm going to buy a 15" rMBP soon and plan to buy the following configuration:

Turbo Boost up to 3.7GHz
    16GB 1600MHz memory
    512GB flash storage1
    Intel HD Graphics 4000
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M with 1GB of GDDR5 memory

But I can't decide wether it's worth $250 to upgrade the processor to 2.8ghz instead of 2.7ghz.

I'm a freelance videographer and photographer, I use my Mac for video editing in FCS and photo editing in Adobe creative suite. Is it worth $250? Thanks in advance.

2. cirus macrumors 6502a

No. Literally only a few % difference (unnoticeable outside of benchmarks). If you are making lost of money and you absolutely need more speed (like something gets done in 9:45 vs 10:00) then it might be worthwhile. But generally if you have to ask then you probably don't need it.

3. B... macrumors 68000

B...

4. TheBearman macrumors 6502

It really is just 3% faster in benchmarks with the .1mhz and 2mb of additional cache. Even with your processor intensive work it really is hard to justify.

5. Pentad macrumors 6502a

Pentad

I'm not trying to sound arrogant, but I am a professional user. I have 9 spaces running and each space has an intense application running. I use multiple VMs, multiple IDEs, and DBMS.

I normally purchase the upgraded CPU for the following reasons:

-My time is valuable and I bill accordingly. Let's say that on a large compile, video convert, or whatever, I gain 2 mins over the slower CPU. That 2 min gain multiplied hundreds of times a year adds up to a great deal of time.

-Most people here are trying to decide between 8 and 16 GB of ram. I'm thinking "Boy, if I could get 32 GB I could open four more VMs to do such and such testing..."

-I upgrade every year so it increases the resale value.