$2,800 - what would you do?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by AppleSticker54, Apr 6, 2012.

1. AppleSticker54 macrumors newbie

I don't think this type of question has been posted before, but I am willing to admit to being wrong if it has.

I have been saving for several years and now am ready to add a 13" Mac laptop to the family of other Apple products I already own. I am in no hurry so I will wait for the refresh(es) to happen. But once they do - assuming the prices remain basically the same as they are now - what would you go out and buy (specifically) and why would you buy it?

Please help this buy-and-hold-for-a-long-time father of three decide!

2. jmgregory1 macrumors 65816

jmgregory1

Chicago and a few other places around the world
    What do you need to use the laptop for? Work, home, web, email, spreadsheets, docs, presentations? The 13" mba I have (mid 2011 model) was a work replacement for a 2007 15" mbp that is still going strong (except for the battery). For work, I'm not doing any graphics processing, mainly spreadsheets and proposals, email and web work. It's great at work and at home because it's so light and easy to move around with great battery life.

The thing I am now saving up for is a TB display. There are times where I have to be comparing multiple spreadsheets and the 13" screen just doesn't allow for good side-by-side page views. I know the 27" screen may be overkill, but I know it will help me be just that much more productive.

3. ericrwalker macrumors 68030

ericrwalker

Being a father of three, I can see what took time to save up. I am a father of one, and she's a spoiled one. I am hoping to purchase a MBP this summer. I might have to put it off until the fall.

If you don't do much hard core stuff, photo or video editing then you probably can get away with the base model of the computer you like. I'd go into an Apple store and looks at the MBP and the MBA and see what size suits you.

4. Bigredhawkeye macrumors member