2 Administrators after migration....

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by jgw1283, Aug 30, 2012.

  1. jgw1283 macrumors regular

    jgw1283

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    #1
    I just migrated to my new comp from 10.6 and now I have 2 different administrators and it made me change the name of my new profile. Is this a problem?
     
  2. quasinormal macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia.
    #2
    I'd get that installer on a usb stick, boot into it and wipe that drive and then reinstall- after backing it all up of course.

    GGJStudios and simsaladimbamba should be along soon to offer some real assistance.
     
  3. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Are you saying you used Migration Assistant? It sounds like you setup a new account in Mountain Lion then after that used Migration Assistant to import the same account and now have two accounts with the same name, hence the required name change. Does this sound like what you did?

    If so, what I would do is create a new admin account and call it "temp" or whatever. Then login to that account and go in and remove both the other accounts and when asked delete all data from the accounts. This will get you back to a fresh machine just the new, virgin temp account.

    Now while in the temp account, start Migration Assistant and import everything from your old machine or old backup. that will bring your original account and its data into the new machine.

    Now logout of temp and into your old account (now on the new machine) and after verifying everything is working okay, delete the temp account and its data. Done.

    You might be able to get away with just the renaming the account and running with it, but I am concerned you may have permissions issues and also concerned about which if these two accounts to tell you to delete. The method I described will get you where you want to be for sure.
     
  4. jgw1283 thread starter macrumors regular

    jgw1283

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    #4
    why can't I just delete the original profile I created when I booted up the machine? The one I want to keep is the one from my old comp that I Time Machined on the new comp
     
  5. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #5
    If you are not having any trouble with it, you may be okay doing that. It just sounded like you setup a new account called say "bsmith" then used Migration Assistant to import the old "sbmith" onto the new machine and then changed one of the names. Is that what happened?

    I'm just a little worried that you could have permissions issues later and by then Time Machine will have already overwritten your good backup set and it might be tough to restore.

    I was just be cautious with my suggestion as we know that would get you into a good state without potential problems. Your call. :)
     
  6. jgw1283 thread starter macrumors regular

    jgw1283

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    #6
    appreciate the advice. it's tricky. I'm logged into my old account with all my stuff. The "new" profile I set up when I first started up my comp doesn't have anything on it. I only used it for a day or so. There was an issue because I used my full name for both. So when I imported my old time machine profile I just added my middle initial to distinguish them. It doesn't seem like deleting the new one will cause any issues. I'll just call Apple lol
     

Share This Page