2 GHz vs. 2.2 AND the Radeon 6490 vs. 6750

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Matterest, Apr 23, 2011.

1. Matterest macrumors newbie

Hey,

Buying a new MacBook Pro. Curious about opinions on:

A) 2 GHz vs. 2.2 GHz Processor
    B) the AMD Radeon 6490 vs. 6750

I'm a pretty basic notebook user (e-mail, internet, word processing.) I do not play comp games at all.

But I'm getting a lot more into video editing in Final Cut and working in After Effects. I'm not a pro, but I'd also like to be able to hook-up some peripherals and cut a feature film, while being able to bounce back and forth from Photoshop.

I basically feel fine about the lower processor speed. But am I missing out by not having that faster Radeon?

Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks!

2. ZombieZakk macrumors 6502

i recently bought the low end 15" for a few reasons....

1.) it was all my budget would allow for comfortably as it is $400 before tax for the high end.

2.) it has more than enough power for my uses i was originally considering the 13" line but after a bad hinge i returned it and opted for the 15" as i like the extra screen real estate. plus i was coming from an old C2D imac from 09 so it is a huge power increase and i most only do word/excel work for business and designing websites.
    I game but very moderately only TF2 and SC2 really and those both played fine on the 13" i have a ps3 and xbox 360 for gaming.

3.) i am a tech junkie so i am always upgrading i usually upgrade every two years unless something comes out that i really like prior (the wife is ok with this as she gets my hand me downs lol)

here are the reasons i would say go for the high end...

1.) will your budget allow for it, yes? then get it it will last longer and the gpu will be very beneficial.

2.)do you game? do a lot of 3d rendering? if so then go for the high end