2 GPU's, which will SL see as Main?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by wheezy, Oct 28, 2010.

  1. wheezy macrumors 65816

    wheezy

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Alpine, UT
    #1
    I now have the NVIDIA 8800GT in my #2 slot, and my ATI 2600HD in my #1 slot. Two screens are plugged into the NVIDIA, one into the ATI.

    My question is which does OS X use for main rendering? Or does each just work on the screen(s) plugged in? In Aperture will it use both GPU's to export files, or just one, and if just one which will it choose? Do I need to swap the positions of them?
     
  2. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #2
    This.

    It should chose the one for whichever monitor is the one the Aperture window is running in. In theory.
     
  3. wheezy thread starter macrumors 65816

    wheezy

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Alpine, UT
    #3
    That makes sense. Thanks! I was hoping it'd use both. Maybe if I split the window across two screens.... (doubt it).
     
  4. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #4
    the gpu with most % pixels of the window will do the rendering.
     
  5. dissolve macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    #5
    And if you get it 50:50? :p
     
  6. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #6
    the window will jump over to one of the displays and "snap" to it.


    yes. I know everything :)
     
  7. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #7
    Your computer will catch fire and explode. Not recommended.
     

Share This Page