2 iTouch's; One was just stolen; how do I stop syncing with the stolen iTouch?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by vitordoug, Apr 10, 2009.

1. vitordoug macrumors newbie

I just registered so I am new in using these forums. I need to understand the syncing process between my mac pro 17 and iTouch.

I had 2 iTouch's; one was just stolen a few hours ago. Both iTouch's are set to sync with my Mac Pro 17 info using the Apple Cloud "Push" technology.

If one of my iTouch's is in the hands of a thief, and he is able to access a wireless network with the iTouch that he stole, or connect it to a Mac accessing the Internet, then am I correct in understanding that any new information that I place on my Mac Pro 17 will be pushed up to the cloud and down to the iTouch which was stolen?

I have a second iTouch which I want to continue to update via the "cloud Push" technology so I do not want to turn off "Sync" on my in "Mobile Me" in System Preferences on my Mac Pro 17. SO HOW DO I STOP THE ITOUCH THAT WAS STOLEN FROM GAINING NEW INFORMATION FROM MY MAC IF I WANT TO CONTINUE TO UPDATE THE 2nd ITOUCH THAT IS STILL IN MY POSSESSION?

Thanks!

2. aethelbert macrumors 601

You can't. If it was locked with a passcode, though, your data is safe.

3. Eric S. macrumors 68040

Eric S.

You can do this with iSync on your Mac. I think Devices->Remove Device should do it.

4. vitordoug thread starter macrumors newbie

Eric, I don't see >Remove Devices...

Eric:
    Are you saying I should open my System Preferences and go to Mobile Me and in that section i should find an option to "remove device"? And is the device I am trying to remove the iTouch that was stolen or are you saying I should remove my Mac Pro 17 as the device?

Thanks, Doug

5. Eric S. macrumors 68040

Eric S.

Not in System Preferences. iSync is a separate application. It should be in the Applications or Applications->Utilities folder.

6. 127079 Guest