2 MacBook Pro's, same wifi, 1 is 10x quicker Internet speed!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Tomtheman2, Mar 29, 2013.

  1. Tomtheman2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #1
    2 MacBook Pro's, same wifi, 1 is 10x quicker internet speed!

    Mine is a 15" MBP mid 2010

    My housemates is a 13" MBP late 2011


    Mine is 3mbps - Chrome - 10.8

    His is 31mbps - Chrome - 10.8

    WTF!!!! I can't stand how slow it is!

    Does anyone know how the hell i can fix this??
     
  2. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
  3. Brian Y macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    #3
    Also depends on a ridiculous number of other factors, such as position/signal strength, router, etc etc etc.
     
  4. drambuie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #4
    Your MBP should be capable of 30mbps. My internet service gives me about 20mbps, and I get that on speedtests on both LAN and Wifi with my 2010 15" MBP running Safari, and that's using an old Linksys G router.
     
  5. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    Yes, but that entirely depends on distance from the router etc.

    The key thing here is two different MBP models, one with 2x2 MIMO antenna and the other with 3x3 MIMO. I'm assuming they're in the same place - namely one where the WiFi signal isn't actually that great, hence only getting 3mbps on the older machine.
     
  6. drambuie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #6
    I agree, but the low speed is fixable with better, or additional Wifi hardware.
     
  7. itouch rulz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    #7
    I bought a rMBP 13 last week and was very surprised to be getting 80mbp/sec across my wifi. I'd previously only used wifi with iPads and phones and max is half that.

    I get 115mbp/sec into the house and the iMac runs off a cat6 cable (I had multiple cat6 points put in when I renovated the house but if I can get 80 across the wifi I'm not sure why I bothered).
     
  8. Orlandoech macrumors 68040

    Orlandoech

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #8
    No residential ISP offers over 100mbps connection in the USA. Where do you live?
     
  9. itouch rulz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    #9
    ----------

    [/COLOR]
    Sydney, Australia. Cable Internet from our local telco, Telstra.
     
  10. mcb001982 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Location:
    Manhattan NY
    #10

    This is not true, you can get 150mb in select residential buildings in NYC with FIOS.


    Edit: actually they offer a 300mb down and 65mb up now via FIOS.

    http://www22.verizon.com/home/fios-fastest-internet/#plans
     
  11. Tomtheman2 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #11
    Both laptops sat right infront of the router, on the same WiFi. Surely the antenna wouldn't make that much of a difference?
     
  12. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #12
    I would place bets on yes, as that is going to be the only difference between the laptops. What router are you using?

    Secondly, how are you measuring the speed?
     
  13. Tomtheman2 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #13
    Ah that sucks!

    Virgin media super box thing, fibre optic.
    Using speedtest.net website. Tried 3 times with equal results!

    Thanks for the help guys, off to buy an upgrade!
     
  14. xlii macrumors 68000

    xlii

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Millis, Massachusetts
    #14
    Just ran speedtest.net on my 2009 13" mbp. 30.85 Mb/s down and 20.60 Mb/s up. That download speed on your 2010 mbp is way too slow and it's age has nothing to due with the slow speed. It's either a hardware problem or software problem with you machine. It should be doing at least 30 mb/s.
     
  15. xlii macrumors 68000

    xlii

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Millis, Massachusetts
    #15
    I have a suggestion... Hold down the option key and click on the wifi icon at the top right of your screen. Do that for each laptop and compare the two.
     
  16. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #16
    Woah slow down, don't buy a new laptop/access point yet! Admittedly Virgin's SuperHub is terrible at wireless.

    As xlii says, holding alt whilst you click on the WiFi symbol in the menu bar shows far more detailed information about the connection. Take a screenshot of each - the transmit rate is of particular interest.

    Try another browser as well, such as Safari, just to rule out another possible issue. Is bluetooth turned on, either machine? Some people report that they get signal interference from that...
     
  17. Tomtheman2 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #17
    Hi,

    Just tested it on Safari with the same results.

    Also, plugged it directly into the router via ethernet and it still gives me the same readings. (With WiFi turned off obviously) Which is very strange!

    All of my network settings are the same as my friends.

    Heres a screenshot of my settings...
     

    Attached Files:

  18. sevoneone macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    #18
    If you are getting the same results plugged into the router, something else is wrong entirely. Are you using a proxy server, VPN or otherwise tunneling your Internet traffic in some way?
     
  19. glenthompson macrumors 68000

    glenthompson

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Location:
    Virginia
    #19
    I'd check the router settings to make sure that a QoS or other setting isn't limiting your bandwidth.
     
  20. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #20
    Yeah, if you're getting that result via ethernet then something has gone totally wrong somewhere down the line. Rest assured, it isn't your WiFi.

    It could be the VirginMedia SuperHub restricting you, or something on your MBP. Have a look through the SH's settings to see if there is any kind of filtering going on, proxies or literally anything related to your MBP (both IP address and MAC address).

    Alternatively, it could be a software issue on your MBP. That said, I have literally no idea what it could possibly be to cause such a static restriction in speed.

    You could also try:
    1) An alternative speed measuring site
    2) LAN transfer from your MBP to your friends' to see if there is some odd throttle on the LAN side.
     
  21. karpich1, Apr 4, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2013

    karpich1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    #21
    Technically, Verizon FIOS (true fiber) Quantum's residential plans cover 150mbps and 300mbps. Though "residential" they're still expensive as heck. I have the 75mpbs version at home as the price is at least somewhat reasonable at that speed.

    Also, Google Fiber is residential and offers 1Gbps but they only cover a couple of places currently.
     

Share This Page