2 MacBooks, 1 IP, Getting Online Conflict...

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by newomij, Feb 22, 2013.

1. newomij macrumors newbie

I'm new to Mac so everything is new and frustratingly hard to find. If not for MacRumors and search engines...

My wife and I have matching MacBooks with Mountain Lion. Frequently, one of us will be online wirelessly when the other will try to get online wirelessly or direct connect and both of us will get a message that "another device with the same IP address is trying to get online", meaning the second of the two MacBooks. At that point, the one trying to get online is denied access and the one that's already online is dropped and requires a power disconnect of the router before either of us can get back online.

Is this a common problem with an easy solution?:confused:

PS In addition to the two MacBooks, we have a VOiP phone system and the Sprint Rave connected to the router as well. When it calls for the router to be reset, I have to reset the Sprint Rave, also. The VOiP phone system doesn't seem to mind all the power downs and ups.

2. ssmed macrumors 6502

ssmed

Are you using DCHP or manual network settings?

3. newomij thread starter macrumors newbie

4. SomeZeros macrumors newbie

i will give you a way and i hope help you . go to System Preferences , then go to Networks , in the left side you will see all devices which connect by your machine , the most important thing you do go to function which you connect to the internet by it . after you press it , then press advanced in right bottom of network's window . then you will see new window go to TCP/IP and press on Renew DHCP Lease .
    ( Use these steps in both devices )

I hope this replay help you to solve your problem

5. newomij thread starter macrumors newbie