2 mini SSD issues

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by MKULTRABOY, Feb 8, 2012.

  1. MKULTRABOY macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    #1
    Nothing apocalyptic:

    I cloned my original drive onto the new hybrid ssd drive with super duper. I obviously didnt read close enough as I failed to install a recovery partition and as far as I can tell only the regular partition was duplicated. I cannot make a thumbdrive recovery disk and I'd really like one. =\

    I misplaced the small dust-guard on the original drive and did not transfer it onto the new drive which is the new native and startup drive to my mac. Im slightly concerned about dust and whatnot. Should I go in there and put a replacement dustcover on the new HybridSSD?

    Pre-emptive thanks for your help, fellas.
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    I haven't tested this, but it may help: How to create a Mac OS X Lion recovery partition
     
  3. MKULTRABOY thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    #3
    I've been to the site. It'd be a major pain to wipe the disk but I can do it as I have a backup of equivalent size to my hybrid-HD (when I have the time).
    And I dont quite have the superleet skills to really hack into my own mac as per the guide. Well, essentially I could do either with a significant amount of time put in.

    Can I boot off of a thumbdrive made from a family members macbook of the same license and create a new partition? Would that work?
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    Yes, I forgot to mention not to try the 2nd method and to ignore the FileVault stuff.
    Good question. I'm not sure. With earlier models, the gray install discs that come with Macs are model-specific and will not work on other models. Retail copies of Mac OS X that don't ship with a machine will work. I'm assuming that's true if you buy the Lion thumb drive, but not sure if it would work with one created from another Mac.
     
  5. MKULTRABOY thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    #5
    Perhaps it's time to call apple... =\

    I wonder if they will mind that I installed a new SSD myself :p They did somewhat when I asked if I could do that before buying.
     
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    Replacing the hard drive voids the warranty or AppleCare. Only the RAM is considered user-serviceable.
     
  7. MKULTRABOY thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    #7
    Well I'm on hold now. Hopefully a nice technical person Ive been sent to will be able to give me a couple straight answers and it wont cost me an arm and a leg.

    ----------

    Yeah it's "call the apple store" from some fellow in India (I assume) since I'd have to pay for the technical advice.
    I'll backup the SSD across a couple drives then find a replacement dust slip somewherabouts on the internet.


    Thanks for helping!
     

Share This Page