2 Monitors both using DVI

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Mr.Noisy, Jul 16, 2007.

  1. Mr.Noisy macrumors 65816

    Mr.Noisy

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Location:
    UK™
    #1
    Ive found out an old CRT monitor which when it was used was pretty good, ive got the 7300 card in the mac, can the dual link DVI output be used with just a DVI cable ?
    What i want to do is use 1 monitor for photoshop & editing stuff and the other for playing back movies, eventually i will be getting the Apple 30" but for now, I'm trying to save a few quid, any advice greatly received ;)
     
  2. Kosh66 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    #2
    Yes, I believe, a DVI cable can be plugged into the dual-link DVI port to give ordinary DVI resolutions.
     
  3. SDDave2007 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    #3
    Your MacPro should have come with two DVI-VGA adapters allowing you to plug an older CRT into the DVI slot
     
  4. Sean Dempsey macrumors 68000

    Sean Dempsey

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #4
    The only time you need to worry is when you are using the 30" or something that needs the dual link. If you have regular DVI-D cables/monitors, they should just plug and play. Use the VGA-DVI adapter that you got with your mac pro and you should be great.

    I have a DVI plugged into each port on my card, and I just used the DVI-D cables that came with the monitors (samsungs)

    check this out:
    http://www.pacificcable.com/DVI_Tutorial.htm

    that might help.
     
  5. Mr.Noisy thread starter macrumors 65816

    Mr.Noisy

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Location:
    UK™
    #5
    Thanks guys, all sorted now running 2 monitors, 2 minute job once i found my DVI to VGA cable, cheers :D
     

Share This Page