2 New MBP For College Kids

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jlrathke, Jun 1, 2012.

1. jlrathke macrumors member

jlrathke

I'm relatively new to the mac scene, having a MBP for about a year and a mac mini as my main machine for 3 months now. My son and step-daughter both are starting college this fall, so we bought them both a 13" MBPs. While they both will be rooming with friends we know, I am still worried about the possibility they may someday "walk off".

What do you suggest for a kids first MBP going away to college? I'm thinking the Find My Mac app I've heard about is a good idea. Any other suggestions?

Thanks,

Jerry

2. serb macrumors newbie

3. Queen6 macrumors 603

Queen6

Insurance, education & physical security, no software based solution will stop theft and even if you can locate the machine it may not be prudent to tackle the thief unless you are acutely aware of the circumstances.

I would definitely recommend a software solution if for nothing else other than to remotely lock the machine and or wipe it, be mindful that for this to happen the computer must be connected to the internet. I also recommend all important work is duplicated in the cloud this way worst comes to worst you always have a working backup.

Insurance is the big one it will save you all a lot of headache in the event of a theft, as the police realistically have bigger priorities than chasing stolen notebooks

----------

Theft.............

4. ivanpk macrumors regular

Get one of the kensington lock cables they run about 40 bucks if I remember correctly and they can have a combination or a key, they fit right into the slot which I believe is on the right side of the macbook pros, it's on the left on my 2008 macbook. It's an oval. You just wrap the cable around something secure in the room and put the lock in the security slot and it is safe.