2 out of 3 Bricked. Due to Resetting?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by meagain, Jun 23, 2009.

  1. meagain macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    #1
    This is a first for me. 2 Out of 3 phones show either the pineapple or apple.

    Both 2G on old firmware but jailbroken and 3G 3.0 jailbroken. For some reason my other 2G worked.
    I set the phones to "reset all settings to stock" said to take about 2 hours, it appeared to be working fine. Later I check the phones and they just show pineapple or apple.

    I cannot turn them off, I cannot get Pwnage to talk to them, I cannot get iTunes to recognize them being plugged in. Retrying Pwning just goes round and round and in the end - zip.

    I think the "reset" does something bad to jailbroken phones? Anyway, Any suggestion as to how I can get them to function at least to where I can turn them off?
     
  2. jeffreyj900 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    #2
    I plugged mine into the USB, press and held the home and power button for a while, screen went blank, keep holding them, when the pineapple shows let go of power button, keeping holding home button.... eventually the guy came up and it was in restore mode.

    Jeff
     
  3. meagain thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    #3
    I tried that and a million combos of it.

    Ran them through Pwnage again and sort of tweeked the butting pressing sequence at the end randomly till it worked. basically hit both buttons at different times than instructed. Have to do a 2nd try with the 2G.

    Weird problem and I'm blaming it on "Erase all content and settings".
     
  4. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #4
    If you get them into DFU mode then iTunes will recognise them, and you will be able to restore to 3.0 or whatever you want.

    Check out this video, it has helped a lot of people:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ofpinyGlQ8I
     
  5. meagain thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    #5
    You guys are great. Thanks so much for your help. It really threw me.
     
  6. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #6
    :)
     
  7. WilliamG macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #7
    Exact same thing happened to me when I did a reset content on my JB'ed iPhone 3G (two of them). Had to enter DFU mode while connected to my computer to make them work. Then updated to 3.0 and unlocked no trouble!
     

Share This Page