2 problems with my old 20 incher (boot up and wireless)

Discussion in 'iMac' started by The.316, Sep 4, 2010.

  1. The.316 macrumors 65816

    The.316

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Location:
    25100 GR
    #1
    I have two issues with my 20" iMac that is running SL and XP:

    1. I cannot boot into OSX at all. I have an apple wired keyboard connected, and when I hold down the ALT key, it wont give me the HD option, and it goes right into XP. I even tried to boot from the CD, by holding down the C key, and it still just goes right to XP.

    2. When in XP, it shows that I have wireless networks available, but when I try to connect to my network, it says I am out of range and need to refresh. At the same time, I have my 27", iPhone, MBP, and PS3 connected just fine.

    Anyone have any ideas as to what the he!! is going on? Should I just run Parallels with my iMacs, and forget bootcamp?


    Oh, and one other thing...when I get the Windows XP logo on the 20", it looks like the night sky in the background. What I mean is I am getting a lot of colors that are sparkling, kind of like stars. Thoughts?
     
  2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #2
    The bootup issue could be the USB controller. Use an alternate USB port, reset the PRAM (see link in sig) if you can. The sparkles may be the video card is on the way out. If you can get booting from the CD working, pop in the first restore disk and boot holding the D down and run a hardware test.
     
  3. The.316 thread starter macrumors 65816

    The.316

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Location:
    25100 GR
    #3
    Holding down D doesnt do anything, nor does resetting my PRAM. Its like my keyboard is dead until I am logged into XP (switched USB ports for the keyboard BTW).
     
  4. maril1111 macrumors 68000

    maril1111

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Location:
    Denmark
    #4

    Put in Install Disk (Mac)> Restart> Hold D on the Restart your greeted with the Hardware test> do the extended one> report back :)
     
  5. The.316 thread starter macrumors 65816

    The.316

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Location:
    25100 GR
    #5
    My keyboard has no pulse until I log into XP. I get no response from any keys until XP is logged in.
     
  6. maril1111 macrumors 68000

    maril1111

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Location:
    Denmark
    #6

    Do you have the Bootcamp drivers than go to control panel> bootcamp> chose Mac Os as startup disk> restart try now...
     
  7. The.316 thread starter macrumors 65816

    The.316

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Location:
    25100 GR
    #7
    Well I noticed boot camp in the control panel, and chose to boot from OSX, so that worked. I cant understand though why I am not getting any keyboard life until XP is fully loaded :confused: Im in OSX now, so I might just uninstall XP, and try it again at a later time. I have a Windows 7 disc, but I want to use that for my 27" iMac, and if I understand correctly, I cant use that disc for both iMacs. Correct?
     
  8. maril1111 macrumors 68000

    maril1111

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Location:
    Denmark
    #8
    No you can't use the Windows 7 disc with both because Microsoft states: "Microsoft states only one computer per license key."

    maybe you should remove the Windows Xp partiton using Bootcamp utility but backup first everything important. Then retry the procedure I stated above

    Put in Install Disk (Mac)> Restart> Hold D on the Restart your greeted with the Hardware test> do the extended one> report back

    and you can't boot hardware test from the windows 7 nor xp disc only the mac disc works for that
     
  9. The.316 thread starter macrumors 65816

    The.316

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Location:
    25100 GR
    #9
    So I removed the bootcamp partition. After restarting, I tried the D key command, and nothing worked. I cannot get any type of key function to work before the OS fully boots. Any ideas?
     
  10. green86 macrumors 6502

    green86

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #10
    Uh.. your aware that pressing D upon start up forces the mac to use the internal drive as the boot drive, right? It sounds like its doing that already. try putting in the OS X cd in the Mac and press C. Or any others here:http://www.jacsoft.co.nz/Tech_Notes/Mac_Keys.shtml
     
  11. The.316 thread starter macrumors 65816

    The.316

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Location:
    25100 GR
    #11
    Do you understand what everyone has been telling me, or are you just reading off that list you linked? When you have the install disk in, and press D while start up, it goes into a hardware test, which is not happening for me for some reason.
     
  12. green86 macrumors 6502

    green86

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #12
    ok Well, have you tried anything ELSE besides pressing D? Thats a good place to start....
     

Share This Page