2 Q's: 4gb RAM, Buying a MacBook now vs later

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by J B, Nov 8, 2008.

1. J B macrumors member

Hi all,
    This is my first post and I wanted to ask two important questions...
    First, I am a high school student who has been saving up/working for a long time to buy a MacBook, i have been set on buying the $1750 macbook which is the high end one with a $150 upgrade to 4gb RAM.

1.) I really do not mind paying the money for the extra RAM, but do you think i need it? I will do all the basic stuff (web, pages, keynote, etc) plus i will use garageband, iPhoto, iMovie, and will do some photo editing and movie editing (just for fun, not professional) I definetely do not want to only get 2GB then later decide i need 4Gb and have to take out 2gb in order to put in 4gb.

2.) I was also planning on buying it the day before Christmas but now i do not think i can wait. I'll have the money by December, but is there any benefit of wating until sooner to Christmas? (ie. Apple makes a new promotion "but a macbook Dec. 20th or later and get free iWork") Basically, will i miss out on anything if i buy it 3 weeks early?

Thanks, All advice appreciated
    J B[/FONT]

2. dr. shdw macrumors 6502a

Why not wait for the EDU discount for college/back to school promotion? Besides that, I'd say Black Friday for 10% off~

3. firstapple macrumors 6502a

firstapple

I would at least wait til black friday to see if there are any deals.

Also, regarding the 4GB of RAM, try places like newegg . com first (a lot cheaper!)

4. gkarris macrumors 604

gkarris

I get my memory at thechipmerchant.com - been buying memory from them since the Mac Classic.. :p

They have them for $160 per pair for Kingston and lifetime warranty...

You may find a better deal elsewhere - memory is cheap - why not?

5. calebmedia macrumors member

6. gkarris macrumors 604

gkarris

^^^ those or DDR2 and the new MacBooks need DDR3...

7. neiltc13 macrumors 68040

neiltc13