2 quad-cores, or 1 8-core?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by SoundreelStudio, Mar 10, 2009.

  1. SoundreelStudio macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Location:
    Blackfoot Idaho
    #1
    I can buy 2 2.66GHz quad core mac pros for about $300 more than 1 8-core 2.66GHz. I have two studio stations so this would be nice. Can I link them and steal anything from the dormant other computer? (processing speed, ram, ext)
     
  2. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
    #2
    Encoding video with Compressor? Yes...

    Everything else? not that I'm aware of
     
  3. sigmadog macrumors 6502a

    sigmadog

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Location:
    near Spokane, WA
    #3
    Some 3D rendering software allows networking of computer processors for an array render... that's the extent of my knowledge.
     
  4. Abidubi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal
    #4
    [​IMG]
     
  5. SoundreelStudio thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Location:
    Blackfoot Idaho
    #5
    Thanks for being kind to the new guy and actually posting answers. I think that you are right; I was just hoping there was something I hadn't heard of before.

    If anybody has other benefits to having two quad-cores instead of one 8-core, I would love to hear it. If not, i will just do the 8-core and use my old G5 for my midi studio.

    Abidubi, I caught that cat doing that to me last month. Nice pic.
     

Share This Page