2 Questions...

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by toto2007, Feb 28, 2014.

  1. toto2007 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    #1
    Hi,

    A couple of days ago, a friend of mine has received his new Mac Pro, it's the first in our country :)
    So, he's asked me to help him out for getting started on the right foot. I've got 2 issues with this.
    He's upgrading from the old Mac Pro, and his main occupation is publishing books. So, he has a lot of great, very high quality photos that he's retouching in photoshop.
    To his old Mac Pro was connected the old Cinema HD display 30 inch, which he wants to connect to the new mac pro.

    1. The main issue is that the cinema hd display has a DVI cable and the new mac pro doesn't have an input for that. So, i've tried both ways, a dvi to thunderbolt adaptor and dvi to hdmi. In both cases it's exactly the same, i get the screen, however at a very low resolution, about 1200x800 or something like that. The display settings doesn't give me any better option than that.
    Is there some kind of driver which solves this issue? I've looked on the net, but there are only drivers for pc (windows).

    Any suggestions please?

    2. This one is clearly a bug, i guess some people has encountered it in previous osx version, as i did too, but now it occurs also on this new mac pro.
    The problem is, when copying folders to another disk, for instance from a manual backup or in my case, from the internal disk (slow) of the old mac pro to a new hd (fast) on the new mac pro.
    Anyway, the point is that, when copying entire folders, sometimes i get this error message that the ".DS_Store" file already exists and can't be copied. Of course the whole copy process stops...
    I guess this happens because osx builds this file automatically. Usually it should wait till the copy finishes, then it might create this invisible file. The problem occurs, so it seems, when osx creates this file on the destination disk before it copied the original on. So, when it wants to copy this same file which also exists in the source folder, i get this error...

    In a previous osx there was a utility for removing all these invisible files and patch the system so it wouldn't create them anymore. However, it doesn't seem to work anymore with the latest osx.

    Any suggestion please?

    Thanks a lot.
    Joel.
     
  2. RemarkabLee, Feb 28, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2014

    RemarkabLee macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #2
    As for the .DS_Store files, this is normally handled automatically by the HFS filesystem. I'd only expect to see those issues if you are copying to a non-Mac formatted file system. Can you verify the filesystems used on the source and destination? Alternatively you could always remove all instances of those files on the source drive to eliminate the issue. Open Terminal and go to the root of the source drive, then type the following:

    Code:
    find . -name '*.DS_Store' -type f -delete
    To stop the Mac from creating the files on external volumes:
    Code:
    defaults write com.apple.desktopservices DSDontWriteNetworkStores true
    I'd recommend performing a File system check using Disk Utility anyway.

    You could also try this:
    http://sw.ixoft.com/folderwasher/
     
  3. applereviewguy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    #3
    You need to use a DL DVI converter if you want the full 2560x1600, like this one: Link
     
  4. RemarkabLee macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #4
    Ah yeah, dual head - of course :D
     
  5. toto2007 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
  6. toto2007 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    #6
    It doesn't seem to work
     
  7. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #7
    dual head ≠ dual link
     
  8. toto2007 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    #8
    Yes, thanks, i've got this one solved. However, i can't disable the ds file creation, this command is meant for remote servers and i need to disable for local mac formatted disks.

    Thanks.
     
  9. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #9
    I don't believe that it is possible for local disks, only network volumes as you have already pointed out.
     

Share This Page