2 questions

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by chell, Jun 18, 2007.

  1. chell macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    #1
    Hey guys,

    I've got 2 questions concerning bootcamp (I've got a C2D Macbook with 1 GB of RAM):

    1. Will Vista properly (=not slow) run in Bootcamp with Aero?

    2. Can I get rid of my Bootcamp and add the new free storage to my normal OS X volume?

    Cheers,

    chell
     
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    1. Yes, since in Bootcamp mode Windows has full access to your Mac's hardware.
    2. Yes, but you must use the Bootcamp assistant to do this, should you need or want to.
     
  3. chell thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    #3
    Thanks a lot for your answer! Can I expect Vista to run properly with 1 GB RAM and that Intel GMA graphics chip. I'm not planning to play any games, just the occasional Texas Hold'em

    Thanks in advance,

    chell
     
  4. 66217 Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #4
    It would run perfectly on your MB. You can even play some games. I play AoE II and Civ IV a lot and they work perfectly.
     
  5. M@lew macrumors 68000

    M@lew

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #5
    Yup, under Boot Camp Vista doesn't run too bad with Aero. I get a score of 3-something for the compatibility test.
     
  6. MacRohde macrumors regular

    MacRohde

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #6
    When using Bootcamp Windows is running native so you get the acutal hardware speed.

    Vista on a Cor 2 Duo gives very good performance; obviously the GMA is not top notch for demanding graphics but it's adequate for you normal day-to-day use (and possibly even some less demanding games).
     

Share This Page