2 Questions

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by BigJohno, Nov 20, 2007.

  1. BigJohno macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #1
    Ok so here they are. 1 What is a program that will control your camera from your comp. I have the Sony Alpha 700 and I also have a mac :). The software that came with the camera doesn't do long exposures.

    Ok second question. Is a tiff the same quality as a RAW?

    Thanks everyone.
     
  2. SLC Flyfishing macrumors 65816

    SLC Flyfishing

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    Look for a program from Sony to do the tethered operation of your camera, I got mine from Pentax as a free download (I use a Pentax DSLR so obviously this won't work for you).

    Comparing tiff and RAW isn't exactly useful. RAW files are files in which all the data that your camera's sensor records is put to the CF card. tiff files are large image files, but similar to jpegs. The reason it's not useful to compare RAW and tiff is that outside of image editing programs, RAW files aren't even displayable, for example I can't show a RAW image on these forums, but I can convert that RAW image to a tiff or jpeg and then it will show.

    The best thing to do (if you don't have a HDD space limitation) is to shoot in RAW and do your basic exposure/white balance/ saturation/ sharpening adjustments while it's a RAW image, then convert to tiff to do your pixel editing. tiff files are less compressed and I can't remember for some reason right now but I think they are also recorded at a higher bit rate than jpeg. Either way image quality is degraded less when editing a tiff file than when editing a jpeg file. it is not degraded at all when editing a RAW file as long as you don't try to push anything to the extreme.

    So RAW to tiff will give you the best detail preservation etc, but tiff files are huge (mine are 50mb+ compared to 2 or 3mb for a jpeg)

    SLC
     
  3. baby duck monge macrumors 68000

    baby duck monge

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #3
    From what I understand, the software that came with your particular camera allows it to be controlled from your computer. You want to be shooting in "tethered mode." A stroll through the included software (and perhaps a quick Googling) should have you set.

    As for TIFF and RAW, the difference between the two is not a question of quality, but rather of control. RAW lets you make all adjustments after the fact. If you want high quality and nothing else, use TIFF or the highest JPEG setting. If you want full control over your pictures, use RAW.
     
  4. SLC Flyfishing macrumors 65816

    SLC Flyfishing

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    I could be wrong but I don't know of any camera that allows you to capture an image as a tiff file.

    Also just to clarify my earlier post, it won't do you any good to convert a jpeg to a tiff, when a jpeg is created, a lot of data is lost in compression; converting it to a less compressed format will not bring it back. Instead you'll have a 50 megabyte jpeg with a .tiff ending.

    SLC
     
  5. BigJohno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #5
    Thanks everyone for helpin.


    Well my camera does take RAWs But its like the sony raw and nothing reads it except the lame software that came with the camera. But I put it into photoshop it just takes that ARAW photo and makes it a tiff.
     
  6. SLC Flyfishing macrumors 65816

    SLC Flyfishing

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    I just received an update to photoshop today that supports the A700. What version of Photoshop are you using? If it's not CS3 then you might be out of luck.

    Otherwise you can download Adobe's software to convert your cameras RAW files and turns them to DNG which is Adobe's own RAW format. That way you will have no trouble doing RAW correction in whatever version of Photoshop you have. I think the download is free.

    Just remember for max quality/minimum loss it should be RAW capture then convert to tiff.

    Bwoods
     
  7. BigJohno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #7
    Right on. I checked out Adobes website and they have the converter and you dont have to pay for it. Thanks a bunch for recommending it. I also checked and it supports the A700.

    Thanks
     
  8. baby duck monge macrumors 68000

    baby duck monge

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #8
    I'm fairly sure my camera allows that option, though I don't have it right now to check. Of course, it may only allow it if you also save it as something else simultaneously. Olympus E-500, FWIW.
     
  9. SLC Flyfishing macrumors 65816

    SLC Flyfishing

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #9
    Let me know, that would be huge! I've never heard of it but I'd honestly make a switch to Oly if that's really the case.

    SLC
     
  10. Kamera RAWr macrumors 65816

    Kamera RAWr

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    I'm where I need to be
    #10
    Aren't the new Nikons coming out this month supposed to be able to save photos as TIFF files? :eek:
     
  11. SLC Flyfishing macrumors 65816

    SLC Flyfishing

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  12. Kamera RAWr macrumors 65816

    Kamera RAWr

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    I'm where I need to be
    #12
    dpreview lists TIFF as a file format for the D300 and D3.

    Check it out for yourself dpreview


    :)
     
  13. SLC Flyfishing macrumors 65816

    SLC Flyfishing

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #13
    Right you are! Well then, if Pentax doesn't answer that, I may have to look into the D300 (I already own some Nikkors as well as my K-mounts)

    Shooting tiff instead of jpeg is HUGE in my opinion.

    SLC
     
  14. baby duck monge macrumors 68000

    baby duck monge

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #14
    And not that it's the only one at the party anymore, but I checked my Oly and it definitely shoots in TIFF if you want it to.
     
  15. SLC Flyfishing macrumors 65816

    SLC Flyfishing

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #15
    My goodness you are right. How did that get past me? I'm usually up on these types of things.

    That's a huge feature IMO. Way better than shooting in jpeg.

    SLC
     

Share This Page